The UH System

Who We Are

UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards

Chancellor’s Award Winner

Amy Gregg, headshot

Amy Gregg

Amy Gregg, an instructor of women’s studies, is the recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Initially hired to teach UH Hilo’s first course on women and religion, Gregg taught as a lecturer for a decade before becoming an instructor in 2007. She has been described as open-minded and engaging, and her classes as dynamic, challenging, and even life-changing in their approach to personal and social issues.

One student said, “I find it hard to believe just how great her influence on me has been,” while another praised her ability to integrate diverse viewpoints into her discussion-based classes.

Colleagues indicate that Gregg is an exemplary mentor, modeling a combination of professionalism and compassion while holding both her students and herself to rigorous standards of excellence.

The Chancellor’s Awards honor outstanding service by UH Hilo employees.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

View 2005–2009 awardees.


Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a, headshot
Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a
Excellence and Innovation
Kirk Mikami, headshot
Kirk Mikami
Support Employee Award
Rebecca Ostertag, headshot
Rebecca Ostertag
Scholarly and/or Creative Activities
Lauri Sagle, headshot
Lauri Sagle
Excellence in Teaching
Kolby Santiago, headshot
Kolby Santiago
Professional Staff


Richard Crowe, headshot
Richard Crowe
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Sevki Erdogan, headshot
Sevki Erdogan
Excellence in Service Award
Iva Goldman, headshot
Iva Goldman
Improving Student Life
Amy Gregg, headshot
Amy Gregg
Excellence in Teaching
Janice Ho Chee, headshot
Janice Ho Chee
Building and Grounds Maintenance
Shawn Laatsch, headshot
Shawn Laatsch
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Barbara Leonard, headshot
Barbara Leonard
Excellence in Service
Lorna Tsutsumi, headshot
Lorna Tsutsumi
Pulama ‘Ike Award