The UH System

Who We Are

UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards

Chancellor’s Award Winner

Shawn Laatsch, headshot

Shawn Laatsch

Shawn Laatsch, the planetarium manager of the ‘Imiloa Astronomy Center of Hawai‘I, is the recipient of the Koichi and Taniyo Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation. He is a co-winner with Richard Crowe, a professor of physics and astronomy.

As the planetarium manager, Laatsch installed and implemented the world’s first stereo 3-D digital planetarium. He was part of the team that developed amazing 3-D programs that bring the study of the stars to life for students.

He has presented several thousand planetarium shows and numerous lectures on a variety of astronomical topics—including being invited guest speaker in Moscow, Hamburg, Athens and Tokyo.

Over the past 25 years Laatsch has been actively involved in planetarium management program development and astronomy education in museum, university and K–12 settings. Laatsch has a passion for cultural and historical astronomy and sharing the wonders of the universe with people of all ages.

The Chancellor’s Awards honor outstanding service by UH Hilo employees.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

View 2005–2009 awardees.


Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a, headshot
Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a
Excellence and Innovation
Kirk Mikami, headshot
Kirk Mikami
Support Employee Award
Rebecca Ostertag, headshot
Rebecca Ostertag
Scholarly and/or Creative Activities
Lauri Sagle, headshot
Lauri Sagle
Excellence in Teaching
Kolby Santiago, headshot
Kolby Santiago
Professional Staff


Richard Crowe, headshot
Richard Crowe
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Sevki Erdogan, headshot
Sevki Erdogan
Excellence in Service Award
Iva Goldman, headshot
Iva Goldman
Improving Student Life
Amy Gregg, headshot
Amy Gregg
Excellence in Teaching
Janice Ho Chee, headshot
Janice Ho Chee
Building and Grounds Maintenance
Shawn Laatsch, headshot
Shawn Laatsch
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Barbara Leonard, headshot
Barbara Leonard
Excellence in Service
Lorna Tsutsumi, headshot
Lorna Tsutsumi
Pulama ‘Ike Award