The UH System

Who We Are

UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards

Chancellor’s Award Winner

Kirk Mikami, headshot

Kirk Mikami

Kirk Mikami is an accounting clerk in the business office and the recipient of the Outstanding University Support Employee Award.

He has contributed to countless improvements to the existing processes and procedures and is always looking to make operations more efficient. Kirk always exemplifies excellent customer service to everyone he works with.

Whenever a problem arises, he takes the initiative to take ownership of it and follow through to its resolution. In situations where he is not the decision maker, Kirk will take the extra step to research and offer a suitable plan.

His attitude is that everyone, pulling together, can make UH Hilo a better place to work and a better place for students to get a true education.

The Chancellor’s Awards honor outstanding service by UH Hilo employees.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

View 2005–2009 awardees.


Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a, headshot
Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a
Excellence and Innovation
Kirk Mikami, headshot
Kirk Mikami
Support Employee Award
Rebecca Ostertag, headshot
Rebecca Ostertag
Scholarly and/or Creative Activities
Lauri Sagle, headshot
Lauri Sagle
Excellence in Teaching
Kolby Santiago, headshot
Kolby Santiago
Professional Staff


Richard Crowe, headshot
Richard Crowe
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Sevki Erdogan, headshot
Sevki Erdogan
Excellence in Service Award
Iva Goldman, headshot
Iva Goldman
Improving Student Life
Amy Gregg, headshot
Amy Gregg
Excellence in Teaching
Janice Ho Chee, headshot
Janice Ho Chee
Building and Grounds Maintenance
Shawn Laatsch, headshot
Shawn Laatsch
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Barbara Leonard, headshot
Barbara Leonard
Excellence in Service
Lorna Tsutsumi, headshot
Lorna Tsutsumi
Pulama ‘Ike Award