The UH System

Who We Are

UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards

Chancellor’s Award Winner

Rebecca Ostertag, headshot

Rebecca Ostertag

Rebecca “Becky” Ostertag is an associate professor of biology and the recipient of the Award for Excellence in Scholarly and/or Creative Activities.

She is a highly productive research scientist with a prolific and consistent publication record. Ostertag carefully considers her research projects and their designs, and this is evident in her publications and ability to obtain highly competitive grants.

Ostertag emphasizes the “art” of doing science in her teaching, including how to read the primary literature, develop independent research hypotheses, collect and analyze data and present the findings.

She shares her love for science through her mentoring and continuously receives high teaching evaluations for her hands-on approach and encouraging style.

The Chancellor’s Awards honor outstanding service by UH Hilo employees.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

View 2005–2009 awardees.


Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a, headshot
Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a
Excellence and Innovation
Kirk Mikami, headshot
Kirk Mikami
Support Employee Award
Rebecca Ostertag, headshot
Rebecca Ostertag
Scholarly and/or Creative Activities
Lauri Sagle, headshot
Lauri Sagle
Excellence in Teaching
Kolby Santiago, headshot
Kolby Santiago
Professional Staff


Richard Crowe, headshot
Richard Crowe
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Sevki Erdogan, headshot
Sevki Erdogan
Excellence in Service Award
Iva Goldman, headshot
Iva Goldman
Improving Student Life
Amy Gregg, headshot
Amy Gregg
Excellence in Teaching
Janice Ho Chee, headshot
Janice Ho Chee
Building and Grounds Maintenance
Shawn Laatsch, headshot
Shawn Laatsch
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Barbara Leonard, headshot
Barbara Leonard
Excellence in Service
Lorna Tsutsumi, headshot
Lorna Tsutsumi
Pulama ‘Ike Award