The UH System

Who We Are

UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards

Chancellor’s Award Winner

Lauri Sagle, headshot

Lauri Sagle

Lauri Sagle is an instructor of English and the recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence. She is a core contributor to the English department and an integral member of the women’s studies department.

While her courses address problems of racial, class and gendered inequities, she firmly respects the diversity of viewpoints and experiences among her students. She regularly includes opposing arguments on many topics and provides a safe space within students’ writing where they learn to substantiate their claims.

Sagle utilizes a wide range of “texts”—from political blogs to third world cinema—which shows her readiness to adapt to calls for a more globally aware and technology-enabled citizenry and workforce. “Her commitment to utilizing indigenous and local texts engages students to approach writing as a form of critical thinking,” says a colleague.

“She is continually challenging her students to think outside of the box and go beyond surface messages and images that they might encounter in the news, on television, in advertising and on the internet,” says a colleague.

The Chancellor’s Awards honor outstanding service by UH Hilo employees.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

View 2005–2009 awardees.


Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a, headshot
Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a
Excellence and Innovation
Kirk Mikami, headshot
Kirk Mikami
Support Employee Award
Rebecca Ostertag, headshot
Rebecca Ostertag
Scholarly and/or Creative Activities
Lauri Sagle, headshot
Lauri Sagle
Excellence in Teaching
Kolby Santiago, headshot
Kolby Santiago
Professional Staff


Richard Crowe, headshot
Richard Crowe
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Sevki Erdogan, headshot
Sevki Erdogan
Excellence in Service Award
Iva Goldman, headshot
Iva Goldman
Improving Student Life
Amy Gregg, headshot
Amy Gregg
Excellence in Teaching
Janice Ho Chee, headshot
Janice Ho Chee
Building and Grounds Maintenance
Shawn Laatsch, headshot
Shawn Laatsch
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Barbara Leonard, headshot
Barbara Leonard
Excellence in Service
Lorna Tsutsumi, headshot
Lorna Tsutsumi
Pulama ‘Ike Award