The UH System

Who We Are

UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards

Chancellor’s Award Winner

Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a

Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a is an assistant professor at the Ka Haka ‘Ula o Ke‘elikolani College of Hawaiian Language and the recipient of the Koichi and Taniyo Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation.

Kawai‘ae‘a has been instrumental in the development of the Na Honua Mauli Ola Hawaiian cultural pathways and the Moenaha culture-based curriculum design and instructional method that impact native learners in culturally healthy and responsive ways.

She is a published author on Hawaiian education, language revitalization and has written numerous children’ books and songs.

Kawai‘ae‘a is a true role model and continuously demonstrates unwavering determination to fulfill goals of excellent teaching while reviving the Hawaiian language for the benefit of future generations in Hawai‘i.

The Chancellor’s Awards honor outstanding service by UH Hilo employees.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

View 2005–2009 awardees.


Keiki Kawai‘ae‘a
Excellence and Innovation

Kirk Mikami
Support Employee Award

Rebecca Ostertag
Scholarly and/or Creative Activities

Lauri Sagle
Excellence in Teaching

Kolby Santiago
Professional Staff


Richard Crowe
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation

Sevki Erdogan
Excellence in Service Award

Iva Goldman
Improving Student Life

Amy Gregg
Excellence in Teaching

Janice Ho Chee
Building and Grounds Maintenance

Shawn Laatsch
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation

Barbara Leonard
Excellence in Service

Lorna Tsutsumi
Pulama ‘Ike Award