The UH System

Who We Are

UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards

Chancellor’s Award Winner

Samuel Gailson, headshot

Samuel Na‘ilima Gaison

Recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence, Samuel Na‘ilima Gaison is a lecturer in Hawaiian language. His popular Hawaiian Language in Action class has become a cornerstone of Hilo‘s effort to educate students about Hawaiian culture.

Gaison has earned praise from his students and colleagues for bringing the sprit of aloha to life and for his undeniable passion for teaching. He goes beyond the call and creates hands-on cultural encounters for his students.

A student wrote, "He speaks with such conviction that it is impossible to leave class without a sense of pride and inquiry about the Hawaiian language revitalization effort."

The Chancellor’s Awards honor outstanding service by UH Hilo employees.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.


Phillipe Binder, headshot
Phillipe Binder
Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities
Keith Edwards, headshot
Keith Edwards
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Wesley Tanoue , headshot
Wesley Tanoue
Professional Staff Award
Erlinda Walker, headshot
Erlinda Walker
Outstanding University Support Staff


Lorna Arita-Tsutsumi, headshot
Lorna Arita-Tsutsumi
Improving Student Life
Lynette Egusa, headshot
Lynette Egusa
Pulama ‘Ike Award
Neal Nagao Belog, headshot
Neal Nagao
Buildings and Grounds Maintenance
Cheryl Ramos, headshot
Cheryl Ramos
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Nadine Wolff, headshot
Nadine Wolff
Excellence in Teaching


Yolanda Belog, headshot
Yolanda Belog
Outstanding Support Staff
Karla Hayashi, headshot
Karla Hayashi
Teaching Excellence
Cheryl Ramos, headshot
Cheryl Ramos
Outstanding Advisor/Mentor


Marilyn Brown, headshot
Marilyn Brown
Gail Makuakane-Lundin, headshot
Gail Makuakane –Lundin
Improving Student Life
Dean Miyose, headshot
Dean Miyose
Buildings and Grounds Maintenance


Samuel Gaison, headshot
Samuel Gaison
Teaching Excellence
Alton Okinaka, headshot
Alton Okinaka
Outstanding Advisor/Mentor
Deboraa Scott, headshot
Deborah Scott
Outstanding Support Staff
Jeff Scofield, headshot
Jeff Scofield
Outstanding Professional Staff