The UH System

Who We Are

UH Hilo Chancellor’s Awards

Chancellor’s Award Winner

Neal Nagao, headshot

Neal Nagao

A maintenance supervisor in Auxiliary Services, Neal Nagao is the recipient of the Award for Excellence in Buildings and Grounds Maintenance.

For 19 years, Nagao was the only electrician servicing UH Hilo and Hawai‘i Community College. He now supervises three building maintenance workers, two electricians, a plumber and a painter.

Nagao’s ability to assess and solve challenging electrical and maintenance problems has produced cost savings for UH Hilo and has positively impacted the learning environment.

“Neal has demonstrated daily the attributes that we want to see in all of our employees—great attitude, technical proficiency, and the ability to solve problems,” said an administrator.

The Chancellor’s Awards honor outstanding service by UH Hilo employees.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.


Phillipe Binder, headshot
Phillipe Binder
Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activities
Keith Edwards, headshot
Keith Edwards
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Wesley Tanoue , headshot
Wesley Tanoue
Professional Staff Award
Erlinda Walker, headshot
Erlinda Walker
Outstanding University Support Staff


Lorna Arita-Tsutsumi, headshot
Lorna Arita-Tsutsumi
Improving Student Life
Lynette Egusa, headshot
Lynette Egusa
Pulama ‘Ike Award
Neal Nagao Belog, headshot
Neal Nagao
Buildings and Grounds Maintenance
Cheryl Ramos, headshot
Cheryl Ramos
Taniguchi Award for Excellence and Innovation
Nadine Wolff, headshot
Nadine Wolff
Excellence in Teaching


Yolanda Belog, headshot
Yolanda Belog
Outstanding Support Staff
Karla Hayashi, headshot
Karla Hayashi
Teaching Excellence
Cheryl Ramos, headshot
Cheryl Ramos
Outstanding Advisor/Mentor


Marilyn Brown, headshot
Marilyn Brown
Gail Makuakane-Lundin, headshot
Gail Makuakane –Lundin
Improving Student Life
Dean Miyose, headshot
Dean Miyose
Buildings and Grounds Maintenance


Samuel Gaison, headshot
Samuel Gaison
Teaching Excellence
Alton Okinaka, headshot
Alton Okinaka
Outstanding Advisor/Mentor
Deboraa Scott, headshot
Deborah Scott
Outstanding Support Staff
Jeff Scofield, headshot
Jeff Scofield
Outstanding Professional Staff