The UH System

Who We Are

Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research

Research Medal Award Winner

J. Patrick Henry, headshot

J. Patrick Henry

J. Patrick Henry is a professor and astronomer at the Institute for Astronomy. At the forefront of x-ray observations of galaxy clusters for over 30 years, Henry is only one of a dozen at the university recognized as a “Highly Cited Researcher” by Web of Science.

He is the recipient of several international prizes, such as the Humboldt Senior Research Award from the German Humboldt Foundation for lifetime accomplishments in astronomy, and the 2008 Bruno Rossi Prize of the High Energy Division of the American Astronomical Society, the most prestigious international award in the field of high energy astrophysics.

He is consistently ranked as one of the best teachers by students and is an active contributor to the Institute for Astronomy’s public outreach program.

The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research is awarded by the Board of Regents in recognition of scholarly contributions that expand the boundaries of knowledge and enrich the lives of students and the community. The board also awards the Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching.

Select a recipient for more about that individual.

Previous Winners


Lisa Kewley, headshot
Lisa Kewley


Barbara Watson Andaya, headshot
Barbara Watson Andaya
Southeast Asian Studies
Daniel Rubinoff, headshot
Daniel Rubinoff
Plant and Environmental Protections Sciences
Michael Shapiro, headshot
Michael Shapiro
Political Science


Milton Diamond, headshot
Milton Diamond
Anatomy, Biochemistry and Physiology
Sandip Pakvasa, headshot
Sandip Pakvasa
Physics and Astronomy


Benjamin Brooks, headshot
Benjamin Brooks
Geophysics and planetology
Terry Hunt, headshot
Terry Hunt
R. Brent Tully, headshot
R. Brent Tully


Robert Bidigare, headshot
Robert Bidigare
Ralf Ingo Kaiser, headshot
Ralf Ingo Kaiser
Michael Liu, headshot
Michael Liu