The UH System

Who We Are

UH Manoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching 2002-2006 Award Recipients

Manoa’s Meritorious Teachers

Gwen Naguwa, headshot

Gwen Naguwa
Department of Pediatrics

An associate professor of pediatrics in the John A. Burns School of Medicine, Gwen Naguwa’s philosophy of teaching closely parallels her approach to patients as a practicing pediatrician.

She has received excellent evaluations as a problem-based learning small group facilitator. She oversees the department’s pediatric clerkship and serves as a community health course coordinator for first–year medical students. Naguwa has developed new educational experiences and progressive tools to assess student knowlegde and skills.

"She made sure to balance the rigorous process of learning with humanistic emphasis on the patient and has a parent–like regard for the well being of her students," writes a colleage.

The University of Hawai‘i at Manoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching recognizes Manoa faculty members who have made significant contributions to teaching and student learning.

Select a recipient for more about that individual, or view the most recent winners.


Benjamin Bergen, headshot
Benjamin Bergen
Tep Dobry, headshot
Tep Dobry
Electrical Engineering
Gwen Naguwa, headshot
Gwen Naguwa
Scott Rowland, headshot
Scott Rowland
Geology and Geophysics
C. Alan Titchenal, headshot
C. Alan Titchenal
Human Nutrition


Sun-Ki Chai, headshot
Sun-Ki Chai
Jason Maddock, headshot
Jason Maddock
Public Health Science and Epidemiology
John Rieder, headshot
John Rieder
John Zuern, headshot
John Zuern


Kazi Ashraf, headshot
Kazi Ashraf
Carlos Coimbra, headshot
Carlos Coimbra
Lorrie Wong, headshot
Lorrie Wong


Michael Cheang, headshot
Michael Cheang
Center on Aging
Annette Sherry, headshot
Annette Sherry
Jenny Teruya, headshot
Jenny Teruya
Sylvia Yuen, headshot
Sylvia Yuen
Center on the Family