The UH System

Who We Are

UH Manoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching 2002-2006 Award Recipients

Manoa’s Meritorious Teachers

Sam Noeau Warner, headshot

Sam No‘eau Warner
Department of Hawaiian and Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures

am No‘eau Warner is an assistant professor in the Department of Hawaiian and Indo-Pacific Languages and Literatures. Warner is a humanistic educator who makes significant contributions to Hawaiian education, particularly in the areas of language revitalization and immersion schooling. He is deeply committed to promoting the survival of Hawaiian through improving teaching of Hawaiian at the university and encouraging our finest students to become Hawaiian immersion teachers.

Warner’s work and research in the kula kaiapuni (immersion school) indicates that learning experiences are effective when learners are given the opportunity to figure out language and interpret meaning from meaningful contexts in which they actively participate. Ma ka hana ka ‘ike (knowledge is gained through doing) provides students with opportunities to communicate with each other through various language activities and collaborative experiences.

As a Hawaiian educator, Warner is a fine example of a positive role model.

The University of Hawai‘i at Manoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching recognizes Manoa faculty members who have made significant contributions to teaching and student learning.

Select a recipient for more about that individual, or view the most recent winners.


Benjamin Bergen, headshot
Benjamin Bergen
Tep Dobry, headshot
Tep Dobry
Electrical Engineering
Gwen Naguwa, headshot
Gwen Naguwa
Scott Rowland, headshot
Scott Rowland
Geology and Geophysics
C. Alan Titchenal, headshot
C. Alan Titchenal
Human Nutrition


Sun-Ki Chai, headshot
Sun-Ki Chai
Jason Maddock, headshot
Jason Maddock
Public Health Science and Epidemiology
John Rieder, headshot
John Rieder
John Zuern, headshot
John Zuern


Kazi Ashraf, headshot
Kazi Ashraf
Carlos Coimbra, headshot
Carlos Coimbra
Lorrie Wong, headshot
Lorrie Wong


Michael Cheang, headshot
Michael Cheang
Center on Aging
Annette Sherry, headshot
Annette Sherry
Jenny Teruya, headshot
Jenny Teruya
Sylvia Yuen, headshot
Sylvia Yuen
Center on the Family