The UH System

Who We Are

UH Manoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching 2002-2006 Award Recipients

Manoa’s Meritorious Teachers

John Yanagida, headshot

John Yanagida
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management

John Yanagida is a professor in the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management. As a student, Yanagida grasped material best by seeing concepts applied to the real world and he has incorporated this into his teaching. He teaches quantitative methods, economic theory and natural resource management. The key to applied learning in his approach is the application of problem solving to business, economic and natural resource problems.

Given the negative sentiment towards mathematics, it is a challenging task to make learning enjoyable. Yanagida uses a game show atmosphere and has math challenge questions between different sections of the classroom as a fun way to have students work problems on their own or seek assistance from neighboring students.

Yanagida’s integration of lecture, laboratory and Web-based instruction is a creative and effective approach to teaching. In his college he served as a multi-cultural scholar mentor, helping students gain hands-on experience in the field of natural resources and environmental management.

The University of Hawai‘i at Manoa Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching recognizes Manoa faculty members who have made significant contributions to teaching and student learning.

Select a recipient for more about that individual, or view the most recent winners.


Benjamin Bergen, headshot
Benjamin Bergen
Tep Dobry, headshot
Tep Dobry
Electrical Engineering
Gwen Naguwa, headshot
Gwen Naguwa
Scott Rowland, headshot
Scott Rowland
Geology and Geophysics
C. Alan Titchenal, headshot
C. Alan Titchenal
Human Nutrition


Sun-Ki Chai, headshot
Sun-Ki Chai
Jason Maddock, headshot
Jason Maddock
Public Health Science and Epidemiology
John Rieder, headshot
John Rieder
John Zuern, headshot
John Zuern


Kazi Ashraf, headshot
Kazi Ashraf
Carlos Coimbra, headshot
Carlos Coimbra
Lorrie Wong, headshot
Lorrie Wong


Michael Cheang, headshot
Michael Cheang
Center on Aging
Annette Sherry, headshot
Annette Sherry
Jenny Teruya, headshot
Jenny Teruya
Sylvia Yuen, headshot
Sylvia Yuen
Center on the Family