The UH System

Who We Are

Willard Wilson Award for Distinguished Service to the University

Wilson Award Winner

David Y. Iha, headshot

David Y. Iha

David Y. Iha, retired secretary to the UH Board of Regents, has more than 40 years of service to the university.

During his career Iha also served as provost of Kaua‘i Community College for 16 years and director of administrative services for 12 years. At Kaua‘i, Iha saw the college through two of the state’s worst hurricanes, Iwa and Iniki, and as an advocate for international education he helped establish ongoing exchange programs with students from Okinawa.

He has received numerous honors including the State of Hawai‘i Governor’s Award for Employee of the Year and UH Manager of the Year.

Iha is also an active community volunteer and sits on the board of directors for the Hawai‘i Public Schools Foundation and Community Links of Hawai‘i.

A colleague shares, "David promoted not only the educational credibility of Kaua‘i Community College and the University of Hawai‘i system, but also the spirit of goodwill and aloha for the state of Hawai‘i."

The Willard Wilson Award for Distinguished Service to the University recognizes exemplary service to the university by a UH employee. It was established by the Board of Regents in 1969 to honor the long-time UH employee and secretary to the board.

2018 Willard Wilson Award information and form (PDF)

Current Winners
Go to UH News for stories on the latest honorees.

2002–2014 Honorees