Meeting Minutes

University of Hawaii at Manoa
American Library Association, Student Chapter

Executive Committee

March 11, 2004

Hamilton Library


Attendees:        Mona Kwon, Lillian Nicolich, Jennifer Ogg, Mahate Osborn, Lori Ann Saeki, Jan Kamiya, Diane Todd, and Andrew Wertheimer.

Not Present:      Trent Reynolds


Call to Order: 3:42 PM



      ALA-SC Constitution (revised)

      Proposed Draft Announcement: ALA-SC Service Award




ALA at the Movies

The committee decided to show Storm Center as an ALA-SC event.  Discussion of date and time followed.  Of concern were reduced hours at Hamilton Library during Spring Break, and finding the most attractive time for potential attendees.

      Thursday, March 25, 2004, 2:00 PM

      First Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday, returning from Spring Break, at 8:00 PM


Brown Bags

Upcoming Brown Bag events are scheduled as follows:

      April 12, 2004, 12:00 Andrew Wertheimer, Ph.D. 

      April 21, 2004, 12:00 Nick Goetzfridt, Ph.D.


Sarah K. Vann Award


ALA Student Chapter of the Year Award

The ALA Student Chapter at the LIS Program at UH Manoa will nominate itself for this award this year.  The deadline is March 31, 2004.  There are several elements to be submitted with the application:

      Copy of our newsletter, The Basement Blotter

      Financial information

      Membership information

      Website address



Diane Todd reported that the ALA-SC application to be recognized as a UH Manoa organization has been submitted.  D. Todd will attend an orientation on Monday.  D. Todd also noted that the application for RIO status must be submitted annually, at the beginning of Fall semester and that a ALA-SC Executive Board member must attend the orientation.


Constitution Review

Jenn Ogg distributed copies of the Constitution revision.  Changes include Executive Board officer additions and some changes in language and wording.  The Executive Board members were asked to review the document and submit any change suggestions to J. Ogg.  The Constitution will be approved at the next Executive Board meeting.



Lillian Nicolich reported that the ALA-SC had 21 paid members to date.  The $127.00 raised from membership dues was transferred to J. Ogg.  L. Nicolich pointed out clarifying the reasons why LIS students should join the ALA Student Chapter. L. Nicolich also proposed forming additional committees.  These committees will not only address real ALA-SC needs, but give ALA-SC members an opportunity to participate more actively in the ALA-SC.


1.    Service Committee A committee to execute service projects for needs in the community.

2.    GSO Advisory Committee A committee to discuss Graduate Student Organization (GSO) issues, and then represent the ALA-SC as a whole to the LIS GSO Representative (currently Lillian Nicolich).  L. Nicolich noted the limited activity of LIS students in the GSO.  Not only will the Advisory Committee bring advice regarding current issues but bring to attention any new issues that the GSO Representative should raise on behalf of the ALA-SC and other LIS students.


L. Nicolich elaborated that these committees shall have 5 to 6 members each, with an elected committee Chair.  In addition, at least one member of the Executive Board should sit on each committee, as an active participant and representative from the Executive Board.  The next step regarding these committees is to e-mail ALA-SC members asking if anyone is interested in participating in these committees.


Financial Report

J. Ogg reported that, including the recent membership dues, the ALA-SC account totaled $665.00.



Lori Ann Saeki reported that there was no March edition of The Basement Blotter.  The April edition, however, is in progress.



Mahate Osborn reported that Trent Reynolds is working on the ALA-SC mug fundraiser.  There are currently about 40 orders placed.  T. Reynolds will email notes to the rest of the Executive Board.


ALA-SC Website

D. Todd reported that included with CAPS status of the ALA-SC is an email account and a space for a website.  Jan Kamiya presented a draft of the website.  She will keep the website in simple HTML, keeping in mind the varying skills of future webmasters.


Officer Handbook

Each officer was asked to write a description of duties before the next meeting.  These descriptions will be included in the Office Handbook, and will serve as a manual to future officers.

ALA-SC Nominations

The nominations for the Fall 2004 Executive Board Officers will take place at the next ALA-SC general meeting.  Exiting officers are Jan Kamiya, Mahate Osborn, Trent Reynolds, and Diane Todd.


Next Meeting

The next ALA-SC meetings were scheduled for April 8, 2004.  The general meeting will be at 3:00 4:00 PM.  The Executive Board will follow at 4:00 5:00 PM.


Meeting was adjourned at 5:00 PM.


Minutes submitted by Secretary, Mona Kwon.