American Library Association
University of Hawaii Student Chapter

:: Recipients

Gail Morimoto, 2006
Andrew Wertheimer, 2007

Gail Morimoto, 2006
Gail Morimoto, 2006

Lynn Davis, 2005
Lynn Davis, 2005

Dr. Rebecca Knuth, 2004
Rececca Knuth, 2004

Dr. Sarah K. Vann Professional Service Award

The University of Hawaii at Manoa American Library Association Student Chapter (UHM ALA-SC) Executive Board is pleased to call for nominations for its fourth annual award to recognize Hawaii librarians, information specialists, and LIS educators who embody the ideals and goals of librarianship as codified by the Code of Ethics of the American Library Association.

Preference will be given to individuals who have positively impacted librarianship in Hawaii in terms of intellectual freedom, advocacy for libraries and librarians, professional education, and international relations.

The award is named after UHM LIS Emeritus Professor Sarah K. Vann, who is an international leader on intellectual freedom, library history, international librarianship, and intellectual freedom.

The award comes with a plaque and a complimentary dinner at the Hui Dui Spring Graduation Dinner.


All ALA-SC members are encouraged to submit written nominations. These should be left at the ALA-SC mailbox (at the LIS Program Office) by 4 PM on March 31, 2007. The application can be sent by e-mail. Nominations should include a brief (two page max) vita of the candidate, as well as a brief (up to two double-spaced page) cover letter explaining why the candidate is worthy of such recognition, with specific reference to professional service.

The ALA-SC Executive Board will vote on all submissions. This year's award will again be presented at the Hui Dui Spring Graduation Dinner. The ALA-SC will pay for the recipient's dinner and present him/her with an engraved plaque expressing our sincere appreciation for being a role model to LIS students.

Questions: Please contact the ALA-SC President or Faculty Advisor Andrew Wertheimer (
This page was last modified: April 08 2008, 21:56:49.