UNIVERSITY OF HAWAI'I / DEPARTMENT OF ART & ART HISTORY
ADMINISTRATION + FACULTY + STAFF DIRECTORY

ADMINISTRATION (Room 142)

Department Chair / Gaye Chan
808.956.8251 / chairart@hawaii.edu

Associate Chair + Undergraduate Advisor / Kate Lingley
808.956.8251 / lingley@hawaii.edu

Graduate Chair / Mary Babcockindex
gradart@hawaii.edu

Acting Art History Graduate Director / Jaimey Hamilton Faris
gradarth@hawaii.edu

Office Assistant / McNamara, Mary
808.956.8251 / marymcna@hawaii.edu

Departmental Secretary / Higashi, Carol
808.956.8251 / higashic@hawaii.edu

Account Clerk / Uehara, Francine
808.956.8251 / ueharaf@hawaii.edu


FACULTY

Andrews, Lew (art history)
Professor
Office Room 224 / 808.956.5254 / landrews@hawaii.edu

Babcock, Mary (fiber + performance)
Professor, Fiber Area Chair + Graduate Chair
Office Room 356 / mbabcock@hawaii.edu

Bengston, Rod (gallery director)
Gallery Director
Office Room 141 / 808.956.6888 / bengston@hawaii.edu

Bush, Anne (graphic design)
Professor
Office Room 351 / 808.956.7646 / anneb@hawaii.edu

Chamberlain, Peter (electronic art)
Professor, Electronic Arts Area Chair
Office Room 353 / cpeter@hawaii.edu

Chan, Gaye (photography)
Professor, Department Chair
Office Room 142 / 808.956.8251 / gchan@hawaii.edu

Cohan, Charles (printmaking)
Professor
Office Room 325 / cohan@hawaii.edu

Drexler, Debra (drawing+painting)
Professor
Office Room 327 / drexler@hawaii.edu

Groeniger, Scott (digital imaging)
Associate Professor, Print Media Area Chair
Office Room 344 / scottdg@hawaii.edu

Hamilton Faris, Jaimey (contemporary art and theory)
Associate Professor
Office Room 222 / hamilton.faris@hawaii.edu

Kawabata, Wendy (drawing + painting)
Associate Professor, Drawing+Painting Area Chair
Office Room 329 / wendyak@hawaii.edu

Lavy, Paul (south and southeast Asian art history)
Associate Professor, Art History Graduate Director
Office Room 219 / 808.956.5259 / paul.lavy@hawaii.edu

Lee, Chae Ho (graphic design)
Associate Professor, Graphic Design Area Chair
Office Room 211 / 808.956.7626 / chaeho@hawaii.edu

Lingley, Kate (Chinese art history)
Associate Professor, Associate Chair
Office Room 142 / 808.956.8251 / lingley@hawaii.edu

Mills, Rick (glass)
Professor, Glass Area Chair
Office Room 206 / rlmills@hawaii.edu

Spangler, Shawn (ceramics)
Assistant Professor, Ceramics Area Chair
Office Room 126 / 808.956.5257 / sspang@hawaii.edu

Stanton, Joseph (art history)
Professor
Office Room 218 / 808.956.4050 / jstanton@hawaii.edu

Szostak, John (Japanese art history)
Associate Professor, Art History Area Chair
Office Room 221 / 808.956.8033 / szostak@hawaii.edu

Taylor, Brad Evan (ceramics)
Associate Professor
Office Room 311 / brad.e.taylor@hawaii.edu

Waite, Deborah (Pacific art history)
Professor
Office Room 225 / 808.956.8035 / waite@hawaii.edu


ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL STAFF, AFFLIATE FACULTY + VISITING PROFESSORS

Boggs, Jake (ceramics)
Lecturer
Office Room 207 / jboggs@hawaii.edu

Cadora, Marion (art history + museum studies)
Lecturer
Krauss Hall, Room 002/ mcadora@hawaii.edu

Chak, Esther (graphic design)
Lecturer
echak@hawaii.edu

Cole, Peter Shepard (drawing + painting)
Lecturer
pscole@hawaii.edu

Dempster, Duncan (printmaking)
Lecturer
Office Room 347 / dempster@hawaii.edu

Feducia, Ara (graphic design)
Lecturer
Office Room 324 / pagibig@hawaii.edu

Feldman, Jerome (pacific art history)
Lecturer
feldmanj@hawaii.edu

Fong, Ka-Ning (drawing + painting)
Lecturer
Office Room 348 / 808.956.5250 / kaning@hawaii.edu

Hee, Daven (ceramics)
Lecturer
Office Room 207 / davenhee@hawaii.edu

Hunsinger, Nick (3D fabrication)
Lecturer
Office Room 103 / hunsinge@hawaii.edu

Jung, Phillip (photography)
Lecturer
Office Room 346 / jungphil@hawaii.edu

Koehler, Shiori (glass)
Lecturer
Office Room 204 / shiori2@hawaii.edu

Kosasa, Karen (museum studies)
Associate Professor of American Studies
Moore Hall, Room 347 / 808.956.8676 /kosasa@hawaii.edu

Lee, Aaron (graphic design)
Lecturer
Office Room 347 / leeaaron@hawaii.edu

Lee, Min Jung "Minny" (photography)
Lecturer
Office Room 367 / mlee2016n@hawaii.edu

Liu, Gary (art history)
Lecturer
garyliu@hawaii.edu

Lucas, Karen (sculpture)
Lecturer
Office Room 122 / lucask@hawaii.edu

Marzan, Marques Hanalei (Fiber, Hawaiian art)
Lecturer
mmarzan@hawaii.edu

Matteucci, Noah (digital imaging)
Lecturer
Office Room 324 / nmatteuc@hawaii.edu

McIlroy, Emily (drawing + painting)
Lecturer
Office Room 310 / emcilroy@hawaii.edu

Portner, Maya (art 101)
Lecturer
Office Room 365 / mportner@hawaii.edu

Scherzer, Peter (ceramics)
Lecturer
peterns3@hawaii.edu

Simonsen, Kristen Rae (drawing + painting)
Lecturer
Office Room 367 / ksimonse@hawaii.edu

Smith, Christopher (Japanese Popular Visual Culture)
Lecturer
cssmit@hawaii.edu

Söder, Madeleine (fiber)
Lecturer
Office Room 365 / msoder@hawaii.edu

Soliven, Juvana (sculpture)
Lecturer
Office Room 207 / juvana@hawaii.edu

Swanz, Jonathan (glass)
Lecturer
Office Room 204 / jswanz@hawaii.edu

Walker, Tom (drawing+painting, sculpture)
Lecturer
Office Room 310 / twalker9@hawaii.edu

Yamamoto, Linda (sculpture)
Lecturer
Office Room 122 / linyam@hawaii.edu


TECHNICAL SUPPORT STAFF

Cadora, Marion
Curatorial Assistant for John Young Museum of Art
mcadora@hawaii.edu

Hunsinger, Nick
Shop Technician
Office Room 103 / 808.956.8221 / hunsinge@hawaii.edu

Iwase, Kanako
Visual Resources Librarian
Office Room 215 / 808.956.8781 / artvrc@hawaii.edu

Kawamoto, Wayne
Exhibition Design Assistant
Office Room 141 / 808.956.5276 / waynek@hawaii.edu

Mayekawa, Lynn
Facilities Manager
Office Room 142 / 808.956.5270 / mayekawa@hawaii.edu

Sindelar, Mark
Metal Shop Technician
Office Room 104 / 808.956.6109 / sindelar@hawaii.edu

Tasaka, Sharon
Associate Gallery Director
Office Room 141 / 808.956.5276 / tasakas@hawaii.edu

EMERITI FACULTY

Anderson, Webster
Bromley, Allyn
Bushnell, Kenneth
Chesney, Lee
Ecke, Betty Tseng Y. H.
Hickman, Patricia
Horan, Claude
Klobe, Tom
Kowalke, Ron
Lagundimao, Clemente
McVay, Harue
Preble, Duane
Sato, Mamoru
Stasack, Edward
Tanabe, Willa
Wolfe, Suzanne


FEATURED ALUMS

Niho Kozuru
Niho Kozuru (MFA 2001)

Amy Ngo
Amy Ngo (BFA 2012)

Diana Eicher
Diana Eicher (MFA 1994)

Tony Brown
Tony Brown (BFA 1994)

Mat Kubo
Mat Kubo (BFA 2005)

Michael Hengler
Michael Hengler (MFA 2013)

james jack
JAMES JACK (MA 2011)

robert reed
ROBERT REED (MFA 2011)

megan bent
MEGAN BENT (MFA 2012)

jean pitman
JEAN PITMAN (MFA 2008)

allison bianco
ALLISON BIANCO (MFA 2010)

jeff kurosaki
JEFF KUROSAKI (BFA 2004)

annie nguyen
ANNIE NGUYEN (BFA 2009)

dana paresa
DANA PARESA (BA 2011)

ryan schultz
RYAN SCHULTZ (BFA 2013)

JOIN OUR MAILING LIST