UNIVERSITY OF HAWAI'I / DEPARTMENT OF ART & ART HISTORY
ADMINISTRATION + FACULTY + STAFF DIRECTORY

ADMINISTRATION (Room 142)

Department Chair / Gaye Chan
808.956.8251 / chairart@hawaii.edu

Associate Chair and Undergraduate Advisor / Kate Lingley
808.956.8251 / lingley@hawaii.edu

Graduate Chair / Mary Babcock
gradart@hawaii.edu

Art History Graduate Director / Paul Lavy
gradarth@hawaii.edu

Office Assistant / McNamara, Mary
808.956.8251 / marymcna@hawaii.edu

Departmental Secretary / Higashi, Carol
808.956.8251 / higashic@hawaii.edu

Account Clerk / Uehara, Francine
808.956.8251 / ueharaf@hawaii.edu


FACULTY

Andrews, Lew (art history)
Professor
Office Room 224 / 808.956.5254 / landrews@hawaii.edu

Babcock, Mary (fiber + performance)
Associate Professor, Fiber Area Chair + Graduate Chair
Office Room 356 / 808.956.5260 / mbabcock@hawaii.edu

Bengston, Rod (gallery)
Gallery Director
Office Room 141 / 808.956.6079 / bengston@hawaii.edu

Bush, Anne (graphic design)
Professor
Office Room 351 / 808.956.7646 / anneb@hawaii.edu

Chamberlain, Peter (electronic art)
Professor + Electronic Arts Area Chair
Office Room 353 / 808.956.5262 / cpeter@hawaii.edu

Chan, Gaye (photography)
Professor + Department Chair
Office Room 142 / 808.956.8251 / gchan@hawaii.edu

Cohan, Charles (printmaking)
Professor
Office Room 325 / 808.956.8180 / cohan@hawaii.edu

Drexler, Debra (drawing+painting)
Professor
Office Room 327 / 808.956.8474 / drexler@hawaii.edu

Groeniger, Scott (digital imaging)
Associate Professor + Print Media Area Chair
Office Room 344 / scottdg@hawaii.edu

Hamilton Faris, Jaimey (contemporary art and theory)
Associate Professor
Office Room 222 / 808.956.5253 / hamilton.faris@hawaii.edu

Kawabata, Wendy (drawing + painting)
Associate Professor + Drawing+Painting Area Chair
Office Room 329 / 808.956.5273 / wendyak@hawaii.edu

Lavy, Paul (south and southeast asian art history)
Associate Professor + Art History Graduate Director
Office Room 219 / 808.956.5259 / paul.lavy@hawaii.edu

Lee, Chae Ho (graphic design)
Associate Professor + Graphic Design Area Chair
Office Room 211 / 808.956.7626 / chaeho@hawaii.edu

Lingley, Kate (chinese art history)
Associate Professor + Associate Chair
Office Room 142 / 808.956.8251 / lingley@hawaii.edu

Mills, Rick (glass)
Professor + Glass Area Chair
Office Room 206 / 808.956.5258 / rlmills@hawaii.edu

Roster, Fred (sculpture)
Professor + Sculpture Area Chair
Office Room 123 / 808.956.6951 / roster@hawaii.edu

Spangler, Shawn (ceramics)
Assistant Professor + Ceramics Area Chair
Office Room 209 / 808.956.5257 / sspang@hawaii.edu

Stanton, Joseph (art history)
Professor
Office Room 218 / 808.956.4050 / jstanton@hawaii.edu

Szostak, John (japanese art history)
Associate Professor + Art History Area Chair
Office Room 221 / 808.956.8033 / szostak@hawaii.edu

Taylor, Brad Evan (ceramics)
Associate Professor
Office Room 212 / 808.956.8900 / brad.e.taylor@hawaii.edu

Waite, Deborah (pacific art history)
Professor
Office Room 225 / 808.956.8035 / waite@hawaii.edu


ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL STAFF, AFFLIATE FACULTY + VISITING PROFESSORS

Bassous, Reem (drawing+painting)
Lecturer
Office Room 367 / 808.956.5255 / reem@hawaii.edu

Cadora, Marion (art history)
Lecturer
Office Krauss 002/ 808.956.5256 / mcadorak@hawaii.edu

Cole, Peter Shepard (drawing + painting)
Lecturer
Office Room 367 / 808.956.5255 / pscole@hawaii.edu

Curtis, Betsy (digital imaging + photography)
Lecturer
Office Room 324 / ercurtis@hawaii.edu

Dempster, Duncan (printmaking)
Lecturer
Office Room 347 / 808.956.5263 / dempster@hawaii.edu

Feducia, Ara (graphic design)
Lecturer
pagibig@hawaii.edu

Feldman, Jerome (pacific art history)
Lecturer
feldmanj@hawaii.edu

Fong, Ka-Ning (drawing + painting)
Lecturer
Office Room 348 / 808.956.5250 / kaning@hawaii.edu

Hee, Daven (ceramics)
Lecturer
Office Room 205 / 808.956.5257 / davenhee@hawaii.edu

Jung, Phillip (photography)
Lecturer
Office: Art 346 / 808.956.5251 / jungphil@hawaii.edu

Kosasa, Karen (museum studies)
Associate Professor of American Studies
Moore Room 347 / 808.956.8676 /kosasa@hawaii.edu

Lee, Aaron (graphic design)
Lecturer
Office Room 347 / 808.956.5263 / leeaaron@hawaii.edu

Lee, Billie (theory and criticism)
Lecturer
Office Room 220 / 808.956.5265 / blee7@hawaii.edu

Liu, Gary (art history)
Lecturer
garyliu@hawaii.edu

Lucas, Karen (sculpture)
Lecturer
Office Room 122 / 808.956.8471 / lucask@hawaii.edu

Matteucci, Noah (digital imaging)
Lecturer
Office: Art 324 / nmatteuc@hawaii.edu

McIlroy, Emily (drawing + painting)
Lecturer
Office Room 310 / 808.956.5252 / emcilroy@hawaii.edu

Portner, Maya (art 101)
Lecturer
Office Room 365 / 808.956.8388 / mportner@hawaii.edu

Scherzer, Peter (ceramics)
Lecturer
Office: Art 204 / peterns3@hawaii.edu

Smith, Christopher (Japanese Popular Visual Culture)
Lecturer
Office Room 205 / 808.956.5272 / cssmit@hawaii.edu

Söder, Madeleine (fiber)
Lecturer
Office Room 365 / msoder@hawaii.edu

Swanz, Jonathan (glass + ceramics)
Lecturer
Office: Art 203 / jswanz@hawaii.edu

Yamamoto, Linda (sculpture)
Lecturer
Office Room 122 / 808.956.8471 / linyam@hawaii.edu


TECHNICAL SUPPORT STAFF

Cadora, Marion
Curatorial Assistant for John Young Museum of Art
mcadora@hawaii.edu

Hunsinger, Nick
Shop Technician
Office Room 103 / 808.956.8221 / hunsinge@hawaii.edu

Iwase, Kanako
Visual Resources Librarian
Office Room 215 / 808.956.8781 / kanako3@hawaii.edu

Kawamoto, Wayne
Exhibition Design Assistant
Office Room 141 / 808.956.5276 / waynek@hawaii.edu

Mayekawa, Lynn
Facilities Manager
Office Room 142 / 808.956.5270 / mayekawa@hawaii.edu

Ng, Brandon
Gallery Preparator
Office Room 141 / ngbrando@hawaii.edu

Sindelar, Mark
Metal Shop Technician
Office Room 104 / 808.956.6109 / sindelar@hawaii.edu

Tasaka, Sharon
Associate Gallery Director
Office Room 141 / 808.956.5276 / tasakas@hawaii.edu



FEATURED ALUMS

Michael Hengler
Michael Hengler (MFA 2013)

james jack
JAMES JACK (MA 2011)

robert reed
ROBERT REED (MFA 2011)

megan bent
MEGAN BENT (MFA 2012)

jean pitman
JEAN PITMAN (MFA 2008)

allison bianco
ALLISON BIANCO (MFA 2010)

jeff kurosaki
JEFF KUROSAKI (BFA 2004)

annie nguyen
ANNIE NGUYEN (BFA 2009)

dana paresa
DANA PARESA (BA 2011)

ryan schultz
RYAN SCHULTZ (BFA 2013)