Theatre Department Wins at 2013 Po‘okela Awards

UHM Theatre Department wins 9 awards at the 2013 Po‘okela Awards ceremony on August 12. The awards recognize excellence in local theatre.

Cheri Vasek:  Costume Design, Thread Hell
Meg Hanna:  Set Design, Thread Hell
Brian Shevelenko: Sound Design, Thread Hell
Isaac Ligsay:  Leading Male in a Play, Handler
Josephine Calvo:  Leading Female in a Play, La Strada
Maria Liu:  Set Design, The Giver
Ray Moschuk:  Lighting Design, The Giver
The Giver:  Overall Production of a Play
Thread Hell:  Overall Production of a Play
Rachael Smith:  Service Award (chosen by each theatre)


16 additional awards were received by the department’s faculty, staff, students, and alums in various other local productions.


Tamara Montgomery, Pierre Bowman Award for Lifetime Achievement
Hannah Schauer Galli:  Director of a Musical, Young Frankenstein
(Hannah’s production of Young Frankenstein had 15 awards, breaking the record for most awards for one production!)
Larry Paxton:  Featured Male in a Musical, Legally Blonde
Paul Mitri:  Leading Male in a Musical, Young Frankenstein
Troy Apostol:  Director of Play, The Pillowman
Troy Apostol: Leading Male in a Play, Cymbeline
Seth Lilley:  Leading Male in a Play, The Pillowman
Justin Fragiao:  Set Design, All That Remains
Stephanie Kong (alum):  Leading Female in a Play, Richard III
Terri Madden (alum):  Leading Female in a Play, Anna in the Cold War
Marcus Lee (alum):  Featured Male in a Play, Cymbeline
Tony Pisculli (alum):  Director of a Play, Richard III
Tony Pisculli (alum):  Director of a Play, Belle’s Stratagem
Dusty Behner (alum):  Costume Design, Young Frankenstein
Dusty Behner (alum):  Costume Design, Boeing Boeing
MJ Matsushita (alum):  Set Design, Young Frankenstein


Congratulations to all! Click here for more information.


Photo on front page from 2013 production of Thread Hell, taken by Chesley Cannon.