Where do deleted messages go?
Deleted messages can be found in your Trash label. By default messages that have been left in Trash more than 30 days will be automatically deleted. Click the Empty trash now link to empty your trash and free up space on your email account.
I deleted a message, but it is no longer located in my deleted folder. Can I get it back?
If you have deleted a message permanently, by clicking Delete Forever in your Trash, then it is not possible to recover the message. Click here to read more about recovering deleted messages.
This article is part of the Google@UH Gmail FAQs