[About Us]
[Coming Events]
[Content Standards]
[Teacher Comments]
[HCEE Website]

Teacher Awards Program for Excellence in Economic Education

The Hawai`i Council on Economic Education and the Center for Economic Education honors outstanding elementary/middle and secondary economic education teacher each year. Hawai`i Pacific University has funded this award since 1988.

A monetary award of $1,000 is presented to the teacher who has conducted an exemplary economics program or instruction during the past school year.

Teachers in Hawai`i's public and private schools are eligible. Teachers may self nominate, be nominated by a principal or any educator. Criteria for the award:

  • Has developed an innovative and effective economics instruction, or project that increased the economic literacy of students
  • Has demonstrated creativity and enthusiasm for teaching and supporting economic education
  • Has used and developed a variety of appropriate methods and resources in teaching economics
  • Has participated in the Center's professional development activities to increase his/her knowledge of economics

Download the Application Form & more information in PDF format.

2005 Economics Teachers of the Year

2004 Economics Teachers of the Year

2003 Economics Teacher of the Year

View a list of past winners.

NASDAQ Teaching Awards

The NASDAQ National Teaching Awards are designed to advance economic literacy in our nation's schools by recognizing middle school and high school teachers who are helping students to think, make sound, informed decisions, and function well in the economy.

This competition is open to all teachers of students in grades 6-12 who incorporate economic education into the classroom - in any subject area!

One Grand National Winner will receive $25,000 (which includes his/her $10,000 Regional Award), five Regional Winners will receive $10,000 each, and twenty Regional Semi-Finalists will receive $1,000 each. Each of the five regional winners will also receive an all-expense paid trip to New York City, with a guest, to accept the NASDAQ National Teaching Award for Teachers of Excellence and Innovation, in the year following the contest.

Hawai`i teachers have represented us well. Since the NASDAQ Teaching Award was established in 1999, a Hawai`i teacher took first place in the West Regional and went on to compete in the National competition.

Dee Ray Mecham, Jr. of Kamehameha, West Regional 1st place
James Chun of Kamehameha, West Regional 2nd place

Joanne Ringor of Farrington High, West Regional 1st place
Dee Ray Mecham, Jr. of Kamehameha, West Regional 2nd place
Jean Miyahira of Waipahu High, West Regional 3rd place

Dick Rankin of Iolani, West Regional and National Winner
For more information on this award, visit the National Council on Economic Education.