CIS FACULTY

The faculty contributing to the Communication and Information Sciences PhD Program reflect the interdisciplinary nature of the program. CIS Graduate Faculty are appointed tenure track faculty from the four partner programs, and may serve as advisors to CIS PhD students, dissertation committee chairpersons, and inside dissertation committee members. CIS Cooperating Graduate Faculty and CIS Affiliate Graduate Faculty may also serve as inside dissertation committee members for CIS PhD dissertations.

For the full list of possible dissertation committee members, please see the Office of Graduate Education web page, and choose Communication and Information Sciences Doctoral program. More info on forming the dissertation committee is to be found here.

CIS Program Chair

Jenifer Sunrise Winter

CIS Program Chair

 

email: cischair@hawaii.edu

Interests:  My research addresses data governance, policy, and ethics related to big data, artificial intelligence (AI), and the Internet of Things (IoT).  I am PI of an NSF-funded grant addressing one of the grand challenges of this big data era—how we can harness health data resources for societal good amidst many competing claims on the value to be derived from these data and the substantial risks for individual privacy and security. I also explore the governance of AI and personal health information (PHI), assessing the increasing challenges to governing the PHI essential for advancing AI/machine learning innovations in healthcare. I have participated in several U.S. National Science Foundation events related to privacy and cybersecurity (via the Team for Research in Ubiquitous Secure Technology) and the future of broadband.

Website: Jenifer Winter


CIS Graduate Faculty

 

School of Communications

Ann-Auman

Ann Auman

Professor (COM)

 

Jenifer Sunrise Winter

Professor (COM)

Brett Oppegaard

Associate Professor (Journalism, COM)

email: brett.oppegaard@hawaii.edu

Wayne Buente

Associate Professor (COM)

email: wbuente@hawaii.edu

Patricia Amaral Buskirk

Associate Professor (COM)

email: pbuskirk@hawaii.edu

CIS compas PhD Hawaii

Julien Gorbach

Assistant Professor (Journalism, COM)

email: gorbach@hawaii.edu

Kelly Bergstrom

Assistant Professor (COM)
email: kelly.bergstrom@hawaii.edu

Ji Young Kim

Assistant Professor (COM)
email: jkim22@hawaii.edu

email: gorbach@hawaii.edu

Hanae Kramer

Associate Professor (COM)

email: hanae@hawaii.edu

Rachel Neo

Assistant Professor (COM)

email: rneo@hawaii.edu

 

Information and Computer Sciences

Edo Biagioni

Associate Professor (ICS)

email: esb@hawaii.edu

Kim Binsted

Professor (ICS)

email: binsted@hawaii.edu

Henri Casanova

Professor (ICS)

email: henric@hawaii.edu

David N. Chin

Professor (ICS)

email: chin@hawaii.edu

Martha Crosby

Professor (ICS)

email: crosby@hawaii.edu

Philip Johnson

Professor (ICS)

email: johnson@hawaii.edu

Rich Gazan

Professor (ICS/LIS)
LIS Program Chair
ICS Associate Department Chair

 

 

 

email: gazan@hawaii.edu

 

Jason Leigh

Professor (ICS)

email: leighj@hawaii.edu

Lipyeow Lim

Associate Professor (ICS)

 

email: lipyeow@hawaii.edu

Depeng Li

Assistant Professor (ICS)

email: depengli@hawaii.edu

 

 

Michael-Brian Ogawa

Associate Faculty Specialist (ICS)

Scott Robertson

Professor (ICS)
Department Chair

 

email: scott.robertson@hawaii.edu

 

Guylaine Poisson

Associate Professor (ICS)
Department Associate Chair

 

 

email: guylaine@hawaii.edu

Dusko Pavlovic

Professor (ICS)

email: dusko@hawaii.edu

Peter Michael Seidel

Associate Professor (ICS)

email: pseidel@hawaii.edu

Peter Sadowski

 

Assistant Professor (ICS)

email: peter.sadowski@hawaii.edu

Nodari Sitchinava

Assistant Professor (ICS)

email: nodari@hawaii.edu

Jan Stelovsky

Associate Professor (ICS)

email: janst@hawaii.edu

Susanne Still

Professor (ICS)

email: sstill@hawaii.edu

Daniel Suthers

Professor (ICS)

ICS Graduate Program Chair

email: suthers@hawaii.edu

 


Library and Information Science

Noriko Asato

Associate Professor (LIS)

email: asaton@hawaii.edu

Rich Gazan

Professor (ICS/LIS)
LIS Program Chair
ICS Associate Department Chair

email: gazan@hawaii.edu

Vanessa Irvin

Assistant Professor (LIS)

email: irvinv@hawaii.edu

Dr. Tonia Sutherland

Tonia Sutherland

Assistant Professor(LIS)

email: tsuther@hawaii.edu

Dr. Tonia Sutherland

Andrew Wertheimer

Associate Professor (LIS)

email: wertheim@hawaii.edu


Information Technology Management

Tung Bui

Professor (ITM)
Chair of Information Technology Management

email: tung.bui@hawaii.edu

Hong Mei Chen

Professor (ITM)

email: hmchen@hawaii.edu

Elizabeth J. Davidson

Professor at Information Technology Management, University of Hawai`i at Manoa

email: edavidso@hawaii.edu

Rick Kazman

Professor (ITM)

email: kazman@hawaii.edu

Randy Minas

Assistant Professor (ITM)

email: rminas@hawaii.edu

Daniel Port

Associate Professor (ITM)

email: dport@hawaii.edu

Bo Xiao

Associate Professor (ITM)

email: boxiao@hawaii.edu