41st Annual Urasenke Hawai‘i Summer Seminar, 2013

One hundred Way of Tea practitioners from Japan visited UHM for the 41st Urasenke Hawai‘i Summer Seminar.  Dr. Genshitsu Sen, 15th Grand Master of the Urasenke School in Kyoto, attended UH in the early 1950s.  On July 21-22, Dr. Sen gathered teachers and students of tea in the UHM Campus Ballroom and Jaku’an Tea House for lectures and demonstrations.  Chancellor Apple thanked Dr. Sen for his generous support of Tea Studies and Japanese Studies on our campus.  Dr. Sen’s 90th birthday gift said Superman!SummerSeminarCollage2013Website

United Japanese Society of Hawai‘i Honorees

The United Japanese Society of Hawai‘i honored Dr. Glenn Masunaga and Mrs. Lillian Yajima for outstanding contributions at the UJSH installation meeting on June 22, 2013.

Governor Neil Abercrombie and UH Center for Japanese Studies Associate Director Gay Satsuma congratulate Dr. Masunaga.  Mrs. Lillian Yajima receives a tribute from Mayor Kirk Caldwell.


Mrs. Yajima and Mayor CaldwellSmall

Visitor to Jaku’an Tea House

In the week of June 24, 2013, Mr. Tetsuya Nakanishi, Urasenke chief architect, flew from Kyōto to visit Jaku’an on the UH Mānoa campus.  Mr. Nakanishi designs and repairs Urasenke tea rooms worldwide.  Mr. Nakanishi explained traditional construction methods to Hawai‘i architect Toshi Suzuki and engineer Beverly Ishii-Nakayama.

Architect Meeting

2013 Crown Prince Akihito Scholarship Awardees

Two scholars received the prestigious Crown Prince Akihito Scholarship on May 13, 2013. Consul General of Japan Toyoei Shigeeda and Mrs. Michiko Shigeeda hosted the awards ceremony at their official residence. Howard Hamamoto, Chair of the Crown Prince Akihito Foundation presented certificates to the two recipients. Ms. Ikuyo Takara, a Ph.D. candidate from Tokyo University, is researching pedagogy in Second Language Studies at UH Mānoa, 2012-14. Ms. Laura Specker Sullivan, UHM Ph.D. candidate in Philosophy, will research medical ethics at Kyoto University, 2013-2015. These two bring the total number of scholarship recipients to 140 since 1973. The Crown Prince Akihito Scholarship is a Hawai‘i-based foundation promoting understanding through exchange of scholars between Japan and Hawai‘i. Crown Prince Akihito Scholarship Foundation Chair Ed Hawkins oversees the annual cycle of information, selection, and administration of this scholarship: http://www.jashawaii.org/cpas.asp.

Front row (l-r) Mrs. Michiko Shigeeda, Ms. Ikuyo Takara, Ms. Laura Specker Sullivan, Consul General Toyoei Shigeeda
Back row (l-r) President Emeritus Earl Okawa, UHM-CJS Mary McDonald, Trustee Naobumi Nomura, Deputy Consul General Kazunari Tanaka, Vice Chairman Allen Uyeda, Trustee Barbara Tanabe, Chairman Howard Hamamoto, Trustee Steven Sombrero, Trustee Christine Yano, Trustee Joichi Saito, President Edwin Hawkins, UHF Malia Peters