Awa Odori at UHM

Awa Odori dancers from Tokushima will perform on March 15, 2010 at the Student Center’s Campus Grand Ballroom. There will be a presentation on Tokushima and Awa Odori by a JET returnee (in English/Japanese), a talk in Japanese by the dance team leader, and a dance demonstration. The Japanese Consulate is also hosting a luncheon following the demonstration where the dancers can interact with participants in Japanese (registration will be required for luncheon). The event is co-sponsored by The Center for Japanese Studies at the University of Hawaiʻi, the Association of Naruto AWA-ODORI promotion, and the Consulate General of Japan at Honolulu.

Harimaya Bridge

The Center for Japanese Studies, the Japanese Cultural Center of Hawaii, and the Consulate General of Japan at Honolulu are pleased to announce a screening of the film Harimaya Bridge (2009) on February 7, 2010 from 2:00-6:00 pm in Business Administration A-101. Harimaya Bridge tells the story of Daniel, an African-American man who must journey to Japan and collect his late son’s belongings. Set in Kochi, Shikoku, the film explores issues of discrimination, as well as conflict between past and present, fathers and sons, insiders and outsiders, Japanese and Americans. The film stars Ben Guillory, Saki Takaoka, Misa Shimizu, and Danny Glover and is directed by Aaron Woolfolk. Refreshments will be served after the screening and then followed by a panel discussion with Mr. Woolfolk and Dr. Christine Yano, professor of anthropology at UHM.

More information on the film is available from the official websites at or Additionally, an interview with the director is available from this link that gives some insight into the filming process.

Poets and Printmakers at Honolulu Academy of Arts

EALL and CJS faculty member Professor Joel Cohn has worked with the students in his Edo Literature graduate course this past fall to curate an exhibit of Japanese woodblock prints at the Honolulu Academy of Arts (HAA), showing from January 28 – March 28, 2010. Information is available on the HAA website, accessible from this link. The exhibition, titled Poets and Printmakers: Literary Themes in Japanese Prints, explores the relationship between print and poetry and is already receiving praise for its creativity and depth of research. Shawn Eichman, Curator of Asian Art at HAA noted that Dr. Cohn’s students have “provided us with invaluable research on some of the prints, which will benefit the Academy for years to come.”

Please feel free to contact the Center for Japanese Studies for more information on visiting HAA and the current exhibition.

Undergraduate FLAS Fellowship

The Center for Japanese Studies is happy to announce a Foreign Language Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowship available to UHM undergraduates. A link to the application is now available in the student funding section of the CJS website. It can also be downloaded from this link. Please note that the deadline for submitting applications is February 1, 2010, so please get your applications in as soon as possible. Good luck!

Happy Holidays from CJS!

The Center for Japanese Studies will be closed over the Winter recess from December 21, 2009 until January 4, 2010. Email inquiries however will be answered during this time. On behalf of the Center for Japanese Studies we wish everyone in Hawaii and beyond a happy and safe holiday season and look forward to the Spring 2010 semester.

Akemashite omedetou gozaimasu!