Heading

Micronesian Voices in Hawai‘i
3-4 April 2008

 

Presenters

  Strengthening Communities

Jocelyn (Josie) Howard
Program Coordinator, Imi Loa Program–Immigrant Employment Service, Goodwill Industries of Hawai'i
jhoward@higoodwill.org

Canisius Tkel Filibert
President, Micronesian Community Network, and Program Director, Pacific Resources for Education and Learning (PREL)
maifiliberc@prel.org
(808) 441-1343

Justin Lani
Director, Marshall Islands Medical Referral Office, and member of the Marshallese Education Day Committee
jlani01@yahoo.com

Joanna Jacob and Dion Bernard

Joanna Jacob
Bilingual School/Home Assistant, Hawai'i
Department of Education: Honolulu District English
Language Learner's Program and member of the
Micronesian Cultural Awareness Project
joannaj@hawaii.edu

Dionisialynn (Dion) Bernard
Hawai'i Department of Education Behavioral Counseling Research Center and a former leader of Boys and Girls Club pilot programs
dionisialynnbernard@yahoo.com

  Increasing Effective Communication Panel

Aenet Rowa

Aenet Rowa
Founder of Yokwe Online (www.yokwe.net)
yokwenet@aol.com

Pastor Robert Lorin
Case Manager/Housing Specialist, Catholic Charities Hawai'i, and host of the Chuukese-language Program on KNDI 1270 AM
rlorin@catholiccharitieshawaii.org

Lillian Sepe Segal

Lillian Sepe Segal
University of Hawai'i at Manoa, Pacific Voices
segal@hawaii.edu

Dr Hilda Heine
Director of the Pacific Comprehensive Center Program, Pacific
Resources for Education and Learning (PREL) and co-founder
of Small Island Networks (SINET)
heineh@prel.org

  Building Programs in Education and Health Panel

Joanna Jacob
Bilingual School/Home Assistant, Hawai'i Department of Education: Honolulu District English Language Learner's Program
joannaj@hawaii.edu

Mary Milne
Part-Time Teacher (Central Middle School), McKinley Special ELL Project, and Employment Counselor with the Goodwill Industries Imi Loa Program
mmilne@hawaii.edu

John S Ishoda
Paramedical Assistant, Bilingual Health Services, Ala Moana Health Center, Hawai'i Department of Health
john.s.ishoda@doh.hawaii.gov

   Richard    Salvador

Richard Salvador
Teacher, McKinley Community School
ricksalv@byu.net

Nia Aitaoto
Coordinator, Papa Ola Lokahi-Pacific Programs
naitaoto@papaolalokahi.org

  Educating for Rights, Responsibilities, and Representation   Panel

Brengyei Katosang
Emma Reimers
Elfriede Suda

Brengyei R Katosang
Staff Attorney with the Housing Unit, Legal Aid Society of Hawai'i
brkatos@lashaw.org
(808) 527-8028

Emma Reimers
Case Manager, Lighthouse Outreach Center
emmareimers@gmail.com

Elfriede Suda
Committee on Court Interpreters, The Judiciary-
State of Hawai'i
elfriedesuda@gmail.com

Catherine Leilani Aubuchon
Associate Attorney with Bronster Hoshibata, in Honolulu; formerly an Assistant Attorney General with the Federated States of Micronesia Department of Justice
caubuchon@bhhawaii.net

  Pastors’ Panel

Rev Radigan David
Pohnpeian Fellowshp/Ministry at Central Union Church
RDavid2702@aol.com

Pastor David Samuel
Hawai‘i Jemdron Marshallese Assemblies of God
Waikiki Marshallese Assembly of God – Senior Pastor
rostinasamuel@msn.com
(808) 690-2307

Rev Akendo Onamwar
Senior Pastor, First Chuukese Congregational Church of Hawai'i
aonamwar@dhs.hawaii.gov

Lay Minister Steven Sigrah
Kosrae-Honolulu Congregational Church
sjsigrah@yahoo.com
(808) 230-0510

Pastor Robert Lorin
Case Manager/Housing Specialist, Catholic Charities Hawai'i
rlorin@catholiccharitieshawaii.org 


The photos on this page are courtesy of Margo Vitarelli.