Tuition Support

The Center for Pacific Islands Studies offers a limited number of achievement scholarships to offset tuition costs. For further information, contact the center directly.           

FLAS (Foreign Language & Area Studies) FELLOWSHIPS

In late September 2014, we received word that our application for Foreign Language and Area Studies Scholarships (FLAS) had been approved. The awards will be available starting with the current 2014-15 academic year. Applicants must be US citizens or permanent resident degree-seeking full-time UH-Manoa students who combine modern Pacific Islands language training with area/international studies. Awards include tuition costs and stipends and both graduate and undergraduate students are invited to apply by the 30 October 2014 deadline.

Please note: because of the late receipt of the grant, two types of award are available this year:

1. Full year awards, i.e for Fall 2014 and Spring 2015. To be eligible for these awards the applicant has to be registered for an appropriate language course this semester, and plans to continue language study in spring.

2. Spring only awards. If the applicant is not registered for an appropriate language course this semester, or is otherwise ineligible (e.g. already holds a Graduate Assistant position), he/she can apply for an award for Spring 2015 only.

The application deadline is 30 October 2014. Please don’t hesitate to contact Chizuko Allen or Terence Wesley-Smith if you have any questions.

Download FLAS information sheet, as well as the application form

Direct questions to:

Chizuko Allen
Fellowships Coordinator
School of Pacific and Asian Studies
Telephone: 956 2210


Terence Wesley-Smith
Director, Center for Pacific Islands Studies
Telephone: 956 6077

Heyum Endowment Fund Scholarship

The Heyum Endowment Fund, at the University of Hawai'i, was established by the late R Renée Heyum, former curator of the Pacific Collection, Hamilton Library, to assist Pacific Islanders pursuing education and/or training in Hawai'i. Funds are available to support one scholarship in the amount of $3,000 for the 2015–2016 academic year, and qualified individuals are invited to apply. For information on the 2015 competition, click here. Applications are due 16 February 2015 via STAR.

East-West Center

Adjacent to the University of Hawai‘i is the East-West Center, a public, nonprofit, educational and research institution that maintains a close and cooperative relationship with the university. The East-West Center offers fellowships to students from Asia, the Pacific, and the United States working toward higher degrees at the University of Hawai‘i. Among the fellowship programs prospective Pacific Islands studies students may be eligible for are the East–West Center Graduate Degree Fellowship, Asian Development Bank–Government of Japan Scholarship, and the United States–South Pacific Scholarship. For information on these fellowship opportunities, visit the EWC Student Scholarships and Fellowships page, or contact the EWC–UHM Scholarship Office, East–West Center, 1601 East-West Road, Honolulu, Hawai‘i 96848-1601; telephone: (808) 944-7735. Application deadlines vary.

Norman Meller Research Award

The Norman Meller Research Award of $250.00 is given annually to the best MA research paper produced at the University of Hawai'i in the social sciences or humanities and focused on the Pacific Islands. Plan A theses, Plan B papers, or MA portfolios are eligible. Submissions may be made by students or by nominations from the faculty, and are not limited to students in the MA program in Pacific Islands Studies. The submissions are read by a panel of judges, who consider the overall quality of the submission, the depth of the research it represents, and the significance of the work in the field of Pacific Islands Studies. Of particular interest are submissions that employ interdisciplinary approaches and/or include indigenous epistemologies and perspectives. The judges reserve the right to recommend that more than one award be made, or that no award be given.

To be eligible for the 2015 award, the work must have been completed during the 2014-2015 academic year, and be submitted in hard copy form to Professor Terence Wesley-Smith, Director, Center for Pacific Islands Studies, 1890 East-West Road, Moore 215, Honolulu, Hawai`i 96822. Any multimedia components must be prepared in formats that are readily accessible using standard computer equipment. The deadline for submissions is 1 October 2015.

This award is made possible by a bequest from Dr Norman Meller, a political scientist and founding director of the Pacific Islands Studies Program, who passed away in 2000.


Thanks to a generous donation to the Center for Pacific Islands Studies, the center is able to provide a research travel award to a CPIS student, not to exceed $2,000. See attached 2-page instructions regarding who can apply, the selection criteria, and the application process. Application deadline is May 8, 2015.

oceania | academic programs | people | outreach | resources | publications
news & events | about the center | contact | home | text only site