core faculty
   • terence wesley-smith
   • tarcisius kabutaulaka
   • lola quan bautista
   • alexander mawyer
   • moana nepia
   • julie walsh
   staff
   • managing editor
   • outreach director
   • administrative asst
   • graduate assistants
   • affiliate faculty
   • graduate students

The center's activities revolve around a dedicated and dynamic group of core and affiliate faculty, staff, and students. Areas of faculty expertise and interest range from the evolution of social complexity in the Pacific to contemporary politics and identity, from early maritime history to contemporary music and dance. Six instructional faculty and the managing editor, the outreach director, and the administrative assistant are housed at the center offices in Moore Hall. Affiliate faculty are housed in their respective UHM departments or in nearby institutions, such as the East-West Center and Bishop Museum. The students’ international backgrounds and cross-disciplinary orientations are reflected in their life histories and in their wide-ranging research interests.


core faculty and staff

Terence Wesley-Smith, PhD, Director, Graduate Chair, Professor, and Editor of The Contemporary Pacific
Moore Hall 209
twsmith@hawaii.edu, (808) 956-6077

Tarcisius Tara Kabutaulaka, PhD, Associate Professor and Editor of the Pacific Islands Monograph Series
Moore Hall 220
tkabutau@hawaii.edu, (808) 956-2659

Lola Quan Bautista, PhD, Assistant Professor
Moore Hall 208
lolab@hawaii.edu, (808) 956-2652

Alexander Mawyer, PhD, Assistant Professor
Moore Hall 210
mawyer@hawaii.edu, (808) 956-2670

Moana Nepia, PhD, Assistant Professor
Moore Hall 215A
nepia@hawaii.edu, (808) 956-9723

Julie Walsh, PhD, Assistant Specialist
Moore Hall 211
jwalsh@hawaii.edu, (808) 956-2668

Jan Rensel, PhD, Managing Editor
Moore Hall 214
rensel@hawaii.edu, (808) 956-0229

Katherine Higgins, PhD, Outreach Director
Moore Hall 215
khiggins@hawaii.edu, (808) 956-2658

Charlotte Needham, Administrative Assistant
Moore Hall 212
cpis@hawaii.edu, (808) 956-7700

lecturerS

Regina Woodrom Luna, PhD
ReginaL@hawaii.edu

Monica Labriola, PhD
labriola@hawaii.edu

oceania | academic | people | outreach | resources | publications
news & events | about the center | contact | home | text only site