The University of Hawai`i at Manoa Commission on Diversity was established in 1992 as part of the University's ongoing efforts to foster a community that embraces and values the various social and cultural differences among us. The various dimensions of diversity that the Commission is addressing include age, class, culture, disability, ethnicity, gender, national origin, race, religion, and sexual orientation. The Commission has focused its efforts on three areas of diversity: curriculum change, recruitment and retention of students, faculty and staff, and the campus climate. Certificates of commendation were presented to both the Commission on the Status of Women and Commission on Diversity by the Twentieth Legislature of the State of Hawaii.
The stated purpose of the Commission is:

To facilitate the creation of a university community that understands and celebrates social diversity and eliminates bigotry.

The Commission will encourage the university community to reflect, support and incorporate diversity among its students, faculty and staff, and within its curriculum, research, services, and campus life.

Committees Home Commission on Disability Access