Japanese Faculty

Japanese Section Head

Ken K. Ito
Professor
Moore Hall 386
Phone: (808) 956-2233
Email: kenkito@hawaii.edu

Japanese Faculty

Haruko Cook
Professor
Moore Hall 362
Phone: (808) 956-2057
Email: hkcook@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Sociolinguistics, Language Socialization, Pragmatics, Discourse Analysis
Stewart Curry
Instructor
Moore Hall 361
Phone: (808) 956-2080
Email: scurry@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Ryukyuan and Japanese language history, diachronic and areal variation, phonology, Okinawan language documentation and preservation, Japanese and Okinawan language pedagogy, Lexicography
Shinichiro Fukuda
Associate Professor
Graduate Chair
Moore Hall 421
Phone: (808) 956-2063
Email: fukudash@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Syntax, Lexical semantics, Syntax-lexical semantics interface phenomena and their acquisition, Experimental syntax, Japanese linguistics
(on leave for 2018-2019)
Assistant Professor
Moore Hall 360
Phone: (808) 956-2056
Email: andreh@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Narratives of empire, nation, and colony (Korea) in modern Japanese literature (Meiji-Taishō-Shōwa), Representations of Korean anticolonial resistance in Japanese popular colonial discourse and visual culture, Affect studies, terror, and colonial discourse, Genre studies: fictions of crime, detection, and terror, Postcolonial legacies of Japanese imperialism
Huey_For_EALL_website  Robert Huey
Professor
Moore Hall 387
Phone: (808) 956-7283
Email: huey@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Classical and medieval Japanese poetry, Japanese culture in the Ryukyu Kingdom, Okinawan Studies
Ken K. Ito
Professor
Japanese Section Head
Moore Hall 386
Phone: (808) 956-2233
Email: kenkito@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Modern Japanese Literature, especially of the Meiji period (1868-1912), Narratology, Reception studies, Cultural studies
 Tomoko Iwai
Instructor
Lincoln Annex 2, Room 8
Phone: (808) 956-2088
Email: tomoko@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Language Pedagogy, Pragmatics
Kazue Kanno
Associate Professor
Moore Hall 385
Phone: (808) 956-7113
Email: kanno@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Japanese SLA, Pedagogical grammar, Language analysis
 Kimi Kondo-Brown
Professor
Associate Dean, LLL
Bilger 101
Phone: (808) 956-4426
Email: kondo@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Japanese and heritage language education and assessment
Masaru Mito
Instructor
Lincoln Annex A-1 #6
Phone: (808) 956-2084
Email: mmito@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Japanese language pedagogy
 Emi Murayama
Instructor
Lincoln Annex 1, Room 3
Phone: (808) 956-5200
Email: emim@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Language and social interaction (CA perspective), Business discourse, Foreign language pedagogy
Miki Ogasawara
Instructor
Moore Hall 364
Phone: (808) 956-7245
Email: mogasawa@hawaii.edu
Grace Ray
Instructor
Lincoln Annex 1, Room 7
Phone: (808) 956-2085
Email: ray@hawaii.edu
Rie Tada
Instructor
Honolulu, HI 96822, USA
Email: rietada@hawaii.edu
Yumiko Tateyama
Instructor
Moore Hall 420
Phone: (808) 956-8292
Email: yumiko@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Pragmatics, Japanese language pedagogy, Classroom discourse, Conversation analysis, Translation and interpreting
Yuka Wada
Instructor
Lincoln Annex 1, Room 1
Phone: (808) 956-4973
Email: ywada@hawaii.edu
Patrick C.K. Woo
Instructor
Lincoln Annex 1, Room 5
Phone: (808) 956-4643
Email: woop@hawaii.edu
Research Interests: Modern Japanese Literature, Japanese Christian novelists and their reception in Japan
Dina Yoshimi
Associate Professor
Lincoln Annex 2, Room 6
Phone: (808) 956-2077
Email: dinar@hawaii.edu
 

Comments are closed.


East Asian Languages & Literatures

1890 East-West Road
Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: (808) 956-8940
Fax: (808) 956-9515
Email: eall@hawaii.edu
Moore Hall 382
The University of Hawaiʻi is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Institution
©2018 Department of East Asian Languages & Literatures
Facebook
Follow by Email
LinkedIn