Japanese Poetry Contest 2001

2001 Winners

Out of 127 entries, 24 poems by the following students were awarded prizes:


JPN 100-102 Division:
First Place (free-form) David Uedoi
Second Place David Uedoi
Third Place Liane Onaga
Honorable Mention Lillian Izawa
201-202 Division:
First Place Meng-Ling Kuo
Second Place My Thu Nguyen
Third Place Shenan Brown
Honorable Mention Nickolas Haraguchi
Honorable Mention Aaron Kubo
Honorable Mention Lance Barcenilla
Honorable Mention Kristina Chang
Honorable Mention Coryann Shindo
Honorable Mention Kim Taniyama
Honorable Mention Mark Panek
Honorable Mention Meng-Ling Kuo
301-402 Division:
First Place Kristen Chong
Second Place James Yee
Third Place Joy Mikasa
Honorable Mention Masato Baba
Honorable Mention Masato Baba
Honorable Mention Kurt Huang
Honorable Mention Ya-Ting Tang
Tanka Division:
First Place Vadim Shteyman
Second Place Ya-Ting Tang


The judges were Gladys Nakahara, Masami Lachmann, Misako Steverson, Robert Huey and Kathy Kitsutani.



  •  Ryubun USA Inc.
  • Shirokiya Inc.
  • Tengyu Bookstore
  • The Japan-America Society of Hawaii
  • Center for Japanese Studies, University of Hawaii
  • Department of E.A.L.L. (J. Cohn, K. Hijirida, K. Kanno, Y-C. Li, K. Shoji, M. Steverson)


  • Bookoff Hawaii Inc.
  • Bunbundo Bookstore
  • Fujisankei Communication International Inc.
  • Hakubundo, Inc.
  • Iida S.M. Limited
  • Iwase Bookstore



Winning Poems

100 – 102 Division


201 – 201 Division

301 – 402 Division

Tanka Division


Newspaper Articles







Comments are closed.

East Asian Languages & Literatures

1890 East-West Road
Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: (808) 956-8940
Fax: (808) 956-9515
Email: eall@hawaii.edu
Moore Hall 382
The University of Hawaiʻi is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Institution
©2018 Department of East Asian Languages & Literatures
Follow by Email