2000 Winners

Out of 118 entries, 19 poems by the following students were awarded prizes:

JPN 100-102 Division:
First Place (free-form)Kristen Teranishi
Second PlaceJane Nguyen
Third PlaceZensho Heshiki
Honorable MentionStacy Bahner
Honorable MentionNga Sze(Alyes) Wong

201-202 Division:
First PlaceJoan Pan
Second PlaceAlina Cheng
Third PlaceVanessa Napoleon
Honorable MentionAlina Cheng
Honorable MentionSummer Chun
Honorable MentionJoel Flach
Honorable MentionKristin Nakamura
Honorable MentionMary Ong
Honorable MentionVanessa Napoleon

301-402 Division:
First PlaceAllison Yanagi
Second PlaceAllan Mamaclay
Third PlaceDawn Oshiro
Honorable MentionGrant Oka
Honorable MentionLisa Okamura

The judges were Gladys Nakahara, Masami Lachmann, Misako Steverson, and Kathy Kitsutani.


Bookoff Hawaii Inc.
Bunbundo Bookstore
Hakubundo, Inc.
Iwase Bookstore
Ryubun USA Inc.
Shirokiya Inc.Tengyu Bookstore
United Japanese Society of Hawaii
Center for Japanese Studies, University of Hawaii
Department of E.A.L.L. (K. Shoji)

Winning Poems

  • 100-102
  • 201-202 (a)
  • 201-202 (b)
  • 201-202 (c)
  • 301-402

Newspaper Article