Tour: Location of Nawiliwili Bay



Kaua'i is the oldest and northwesternmost of the major Hawaiian Islands. It is separated from the other islands by the challenging Ka'ie'ie Waho Channel.

"Maika'i Kaua'i, hemolele i ka malie."
So fine is Kaua'i, tranquil in the calm.
Information about the moku 'aina of Kaua'i and the ahupua'a of Nawiliwili Bay is based on Kauai: Ancient Place-Names and Their Stories, and the The Place Names of Puna, by Frederick B. Wichman

Kaua'i is divided into five major districts, or moku 'aina. Nawiliwili Bay is located in the moku 'aina of Puna on the southeastern coast. One meaning of puna is spring, and Puna has an abundance of springs and streams caused by its location on the windward side of the island. Around 1000 A.D., settlers from the Marquesas arrived, led by Punanuikaia'aina. He succeeded in creating a chiefdom independent of Kona in Puna.



Map courtesy of Ho'okipa Network
"He nani wale no o Puna mai 'o a 'o."
There is only beauty from one end of Puna to the other.
There is nothing to complain about.
Olelo No'eau #838
An ahupua'a is a Hawaiian land division within the moku 'aina, usually extending from the uplands to the sea. The five ahupua'a of Nawiliwili Bay are located in the southern section of Puna. They are:

1. Kipu

2. Ha'iku

3. Niumalu

4. Nawiliwili

5. Kalapaki

Aerial photographs of the ahupua'a of Nawiliwili Bay courtesy of photographer David Boynton and pilot Casey Riemer of Jack Harter Helicopters. Mahalo.

Map courtesy of Ho'okipa Network
These are the ahupua'a of Nawiliwili Bay. In the next section of our tour, we will ask why they are 'ainakumuwai, or the source of our streams.
Created June 2001