Faculty Committees & Boards, GenEd at UHM
About General Education

Teacher Resources




Hawaiian or Second Language

Committees & Boards

Articulation & Transfer




Spring 2004

Fall 2003




Current Committees & Boards

Faculty governance

GEC meetings




2001-02 Committees

General Education Committee 01-02

Committee member Role Term ends
Brent Sipes (Plant & Environmental Protection Sciences; Faculty Senate member) Chair; Senator June 2002
Jane Schoonmaker (Oceanography; Faculty Senate member) Vice-chair; Senator June 2003
Lewis Andrews (Art) Liaison to the Writing Intensive Focus Board June 2002
Jerry Bentley (History) Liaison to the Foundations Board June 2003
Carolyn Brooks-Harris (A&S Student Academic Services Liaison from Advising June 2004
Sewell Chan (student representative) Appointed by ASUH  
Ruth Hsu (English) Liaison to the Hawaiian, Asian & Pacific Focus Board  June 2003
Peter Manicas (Liberal Studies) Liaison to the Contemporary Ethical Issues Focus Board June 2002
Jean Toyama (French) SEC liaison to GEC, non-voting member  
Ming-Bao Yue (East Asian Lang & Lit) Liaison to the Oral Communications Focus Board June 2004


Foundations Board 01-02

Board member Role Term ends
Matt McGranaghan (Geography) Special responsibility for Global & Multicultural Perspectives June 2002
Jim Roumasset (Econonics) Special responsibility for Symbolic Reasoning June 2003
LaRene Despain (English) Special responsibility for Written Communication June 2002
Jeanne Oka (A&S Student Academic Services) First Year at Manoa representative June 2003
David Ross (Math) Broad perspective, representing the full range of undergraduate education at UHM June 2004
Margit Watts (Rainbow Advantage) June 2004
Halina Zaleski (Animal Sciences) June 2003


Contemporary Ethical Issues Focus Board 01-02

Board members
Bion Griffin (Anthropology)
Ron McCarthy (Peace Studies)
Ian Robertson (Civil Engineering)
Janice Uchida (Plant Pathology)
Cynthia Ward (English)


Hawaiian, Asian, and Pacific Issues Focus Board 01-02

Board members
Pauline Chinn (College of Education)
Carl Evensen (Agronomy & Soil Science)
Julie Iezzi (Theatre and Dance)
Naomi Losch (Hawaiian & Indo-Pacific Languages)
Ricardo Trimillos (Asian Studies)


Oral Communication Focus Board 01-02

Board members
Kelly Aune (Speech)
Linda Cox (Natural Resources & Environmental Mgt)
Donna Fukuda (Dental Hygiene)
Ruth Mabanglo (Hawaiian and Indo-Pacific Lang & Lit)
Leon Serafim (East Asian Lang & Lit)


Writing Intensive Focus Board 01-02

Board members Area Term ends
William Sharkey, Speech A&S: Arts & Humanities June 2002
Joy Logan, Spanish A&S: Languages, Linguistics, & Literatures June 2004
Michael Peters, Physics A&S: Natural Sciences June 2004
Michael Weinstein, Sociology A&S: Social Sciences June 2002
Dian Dooley, Human Nutrition & Food Science Professional School: Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources June 2003
Steve Dawson, Finance Professional School: Business Administration June 2003
Megumi Taniguchi, Student Academic Services, A&S A&S: Student Academic Services June 2004
Joy Marsella, English, LLL Director of Composition, English department ex officio
Graham Crookes, Second Language Studies, LLL Director of the English Language Institute (Second Language Studies department) ex officio
Tom Hilgers, English Director of Manoa Writing Program, Board Chair ex officio


updated July 29, 2004; report errors to gened@hawaii.edu

General Education Office 2545 McCarthy Mall, Bilger Hall 104 Honolulu, HI 96822 (808) 956-6660 gened@hawaii.edu 

2006-2008 University of Hawai`i at Mānoa