Faculty Committees & Boards, GenEd at UHM

About General Education




Hawaiian or Second Language

Committees & Boards

Articulation & Transfer



Current committees & boards

Faculty governance
GEC meetings




Spring 2004

General Education Committee S04

The General Education Committee (GEC), a Standing Committee of the UHM Faculty Senate, develops policies and procedures for implementing and monitoring General Education at UHM, and it undertakes regular assessment of the program's educational effectiveness.

Concerns regarding Diversification courses or the Wild Card should be sent to the GEC Chair.

Committee member Role Term ends
David Stegenga (Mathematics) Chair; Senator June 2004
Linda Cox (Natural Resources & Environmental Management) Vice-chair; Senator June 2005
Carolyn Brooks-Harris (A&S Student Academic Services) Liaison from A&S Advising June 2004
William Foltz (English) W Board liaison June 2006
Randy Hensley (Hamilton Library) F Board liaison June 2005
Jeannie Lum (Educational Foundations) H Board liaison June 2006
Markus Wessendorf (Theatre & Dance) O Board liaison June 2004
Norman Kukona (ASUH) ASUH representative June 2004
Richard Chadwick (Political Science) E Board liaison June 2005
Non-voting members
Janice Uchida (Plant & Environmental Protection Sciences) -- Liaison from SEC
Jan Heu (Admissions & Records)
Thomas Hilgers (General Education Office/Manoa Writing Program)
Denise Konan (Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs)


Foundations Board S04

Board member Role   Term ends
David Chin (Info & Computer Science) Special responsibility for Symbolic Reasoning   June 2006
Michael Graves (Anthropology) Special responsibility for Global & Multicultural Perspectives   June 2005
Sherwood Maynard (Biology, Marine Options Program) Broad perspective, representing full range of undergraduate education   June 2006
Patricia Nishimoto (Career Services) First Year at Manoa representative   June 2006
David Ross (Math) Broad perspective, representing full range of undergraduate education   June 2004
Todd Sammons (English) Special responsibility for Written Communication   June 2005
Margit Watts (Rainbow Advantage) Broad perspective, representing full range of undergraduate education Chair June 2004
Randy Hensley GEC liaison    


Contemporary Ethical Issues Focus Board S04

Board member   Term ends
Andrew Arno (Anthropology)   June 2005
Linda Engelberg (Sinclair Library, Wong AV Center)   June 2006
Ernestine Enomoto (Educational Administration) Chair June 2005
Lois Magnussen (Nursing)   June 2006
Ian Robertson (Civil & Environmental Engineering)   June 2004
Richard Chadwick GEC liaison  


Hawaiian, Asian, and Pacific Issues Focus Board S04

Board member   Term ends
Pauline Chinn (College of Education)   June 2006
April Drexel (Center for Hawaiian Studies)   June 2005
Niklaus Schweizer (Lang. & Lit. of Europe & the Americas)   June 2006
Ron Solis (Hawaiian & Indo-Pacific Languages &  Literatures) Chair June 2005
Ricardo Trimillos (Asian Studies)   June 2004
Jeannie Lum GEC liaison  


Oral Communication Focus Board S04

Board member   Term ends
Kelly Aune (Speech) Chair June 2004
Catherine Hamer (Library)   June 2006
John Mayer (Hawaiian & Indo-Pacific Languages)   June 2005
Jeanne Oka (Arts & Sciences Advising)   June 2006
Panos Prevedouros (Civil & Environmental Engineering)   June 2005
Marcus Wessendorf GEC liaison  


Writing Intensive Focus Board S04

Board member Area Term ends
Helen Baroni, Religion A&S: Arts & Humanities June 2005
Graham Crookes, Second Language Studies Director of the English Language Institute  
Thomas Hilgers, English W BOARD CHAIR & Director of the Manoa Writing Program  
Joy Logan, Spanish A&S: Languages, Linguistics, & Literatures June 2004
Richard Nettell, English A&S: Languages, Linguistics, & Literatures June 2006
Lawrence Nitz, Political Science A&S: Social Sciences June 2005
Lorey Takahashi, Psychology A&S: Social Sciences June 2006
Megumi Taniguchi, Student Academic Services A&S: Student Academic Services June 2004
Todd Sammons, English Director of Composition  
Leslie Wilson, Math A&S: Natural Sciences June 2004
Non-voting members
Lisa Fujikawa Manoa Writing Program
Monica Stitt-Bergh Manoa Writing Program
William Foltz GEC liaison


updated July 29, 2004; report errors to gened@hawaii.edu

General Education Office 2545 McCarthy Mall, Bilger Hall 104 Honolulu, HI 96822 (808) 956-6660 gened@hawaii.edu 

2006-2008 University of Hawai`i at Mānoa