Close

Grants Awarded for 2018-2019

HSDM grants were awarded in September 2018 for the academic year.


Aliamanu Middle School

Project Name:
A Healthy AMS
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Chris Facuri
chris_facuri@notes.k12.hi.us

Alvah Scott Elementary School

Project Name:
Make Healthy Choices
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Vicki Minello
vicki_minello@notes.k12.hi.us


Assets High School

Project Name:
Assets Videography Mentorship
Awarded:
$1,000
Contact:
Jason Wagner
jwagner@assets-school.net


Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle School

Project Name:
Haku Mele o Kamakahelei
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Denise Karratti
denise_karratti@eckms.k12.hi.us


West Hawaii Explorations Academy

Project Name:
Connections Project
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Duke Kelli
dkell@whea.net


Farrington High School

Project Name:
Make It G-RATED
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Charleen Ego
charleen_ego@notes.k12.hi.us


Fern Elemenatary School

Project Name:
SEL/Our School, Our Kuleana
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Selene Horita
selene_horita@notes.k12.hi.us


Hanalani Schools

Project Name:
Creating Innovative Artists
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Kristen Euoute
keoute@hanalani.org


Hawai'i School for the Deaf and the Blind

Project Name:
Introduction to Hawaiian Deaf Culture
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Brian Nakamoto
Brian_Nakamoto@hsdb.k12.hi.us


Hawai'i Technology Academy

Project Name:
Honu Heartbeat/Student News
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Chanelle Tolentino
ctolentino@myhta.org


Hilo Intermediate School

Project Name:
Digital Media Production
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Robert Bowman
robert_bowman@notes.k12.hi.us


Honowai Elementary School

Project Name:
iPad Photography
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Serena Moriya
serena_moriya@notes.k12.hi.us


Ilima Intermediate School

Project Name:
Unite to Move Forward – Pupukahi i Holomua
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Sean Telles
stelles@ilima.k12.hi.us


Island Pacific Academy

Project Name:
IPA All Hands on Deck
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Austin Wandasan
awandasan@ipahawaii.org


Island Pacific Academy

Project Name:
School Scoops
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Lisa Lariscy
llariscy@ipahawaii.org


Island School

Project Name:
Enhancing Storytelling Through Audio
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Ashley Paget
ashley@ischool.org


James B. Castle High School

Project Name:
Establishment of a Multimedia Program at Castle
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
John Esaki
director@ctinproductions.com


Kahakai Elementary School

Project Name:
Jr. Hiki No Club
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Melissa Burr
mburr@kahakai.k12.hi.us


Kainalu Elementary

Project Name:
Kainalu Video Projects
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Irene Yamashita
yamashitaagt@gmail.com


Kalihi Waena Elementary School

Project Name:
Lion Pride News
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Daniel Larkin
daniel_larkin@kwes.k12.hi.us


Kanuikapono Public Charter School

Project Name:
Mo’olelo Media
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Ipo Torio
ipo.kanu@gmail.com


Kapolei Middle School

Project Name:
The Diverse Journey to Our Future Destiny
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Brenda Chase
Brenda_chase@kapoleimid.k12.hi.us


Kapolei High School

Project Name:
Hurricane Films
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Victor Salazar
vsalazar@hurricanes.k12.hi.us


Kauai High School

Project Name:
Capture the Moments
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Leah Aiwohe
Leah_Aiwohi@notes.k12.hi.us


Kealakehe Intermediate School

Project Name:
The Story of Hulabr
Awarded:

$2,000
Contact:
Mathieu Williams
mathieuwilliams@gmail.com


King David Kalakaua Middle School

Project Name:
Digital Media Club
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
William Calori
william.calori@kalakauamiddle.org


Kipapa Elementary School

Project Name:
iMaC- Informational Movies and Creations
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Kacie Conner
kacie_conner@notes.k12.hi.us


Kohala Elementary School

Project Name:
Kohala Unupa’a
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Johnelle Kainoa
jkching64@yahoo.com


Konawaena High School

Project Name:
Art Tutorials to Reinforce Learning
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Chris Pascual
chris_pascual@notes.k12.hi.us


Koolau Baptist Academy

Project Name:
Video Production Technology
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Edward Habal
edward.habal@koolaubc.org


Kua o ka La PCS

Project Name:
Milolii Hipu’u – Digital Media Through the Arts
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Kaimi Kaupiko
kkaupiko@gmail.com


La Pietra Hawaii School for Girls

Project Name:
Wahi Pana: Stories about Our Home
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Jeanette Hall
jhall@lapietra.edu


Lanai High & Elementary School

Project Name:
How to…: A Classroom Guide to Tech Tools
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Erin Nakano
enakano@lanaischool.k12.hi.us


Le Jardin Academy

Project Name:
Tools to Learn
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Leah Freitas
leah.freitas@lejardinacademy.org


Ma'ili Elementary School

Project Name:
Bettering Our Aina
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Toni Domingo-Oka
tdomingo-oka@maili.k12.hi.us


Makaha Elementary School

Project Name:
Digital Media Curriculum
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Spencer Harris
spencer_harris@notes.k12.hi.us


Malama Honua Public Charter School

Project Name:
Wa’a Documentary
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Vanessa Souki
vsouki@malamahonuapcs.org


Manoa Elementary School

Project Name:
Manoa Elementary School
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Darcie Kajioka
darcie_kajioka@notes.k12.hi.us


Maui Preparatory Academy

Project Name:
Maui Prep Digital Media Network
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Jenny Worth
jworth@mauiprep.org


Maui Waena Intermediate School

Project Name:
Falcon Entertainment
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Jennifer Suzuki
mwis.suzuki@gmail.com


McKinley High School

Project Name:
Sustainability and Me
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Mara Kaizawa
mara_kaizawa@mckinleyhs.k12.hi.us


Mililani Middle School

Project Name:
Digital Story Telling
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Paul Stanley
paul.stanley@notes.k12.hi.us 


Moanalua High School

Project Name:
Now Loading News: Working for the community
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Austin Zavala
austin_zavala@notes.k12.hi.us


Sacred Hearts Academy

Project Name:
Videos at Sacred Hearts Academy
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Alyssa Myers
amyers@sacredhearts.org


Sacred Hearts Academy

Project Name:
Digital Media Club
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Laurel Oshiro
loshiro@sacredhearts.org


Salt Lake Elementary School

Project Name:
MiniMac at SLES
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Patricia Contee
patty_contee@saltlakeelem.k12.hi.us


St. Anthony School

Project Name:
Digital Media After School Club
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Everett Lee Yamashita
eyamashita@sasmaui.org


St. Catherine School - Kauai

Project Name:
Voice & Choice
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Brad Williamson
bwilliamson@st-catherineschool.org


St. Joseph High School

Project Name:
“Mauli ola.” (The awareness of our overall health, spiritual, emotional and physical well being.)
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Mellon Monello
mmonello@sjshilo.org


Stevenson Middle School

Project Name:
Digital Responsibility
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Amy Tsujioka
tsujioka@rlsms.com


Trinity Christian School

Project Name:
Communications Studio
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Richard Cook
rlcook@tcskailua.net


Voyager Public Charter School

Project Name:
Starting from SCRATCH
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Wrayna Fairchild
wfairchild@voyagerpcs.com


Waiakea Elementary School

Project Name:
Royals Living Aloha
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Kathy Sewake
kathy_sewake@notes.k12.hi.us


Waiākea Intermediate School

Project Name:
Social Media In the Classrooms
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Jill Kubojiri
jill_kubojiri@notes.k12.hi.us


Waianae Intermediate School

Project Name:
Jr. Searider Television
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Luane Higuchi
luane_higuchi@notes.k12.hi.us


Waikiki School

Project Name:
Interactive video of Waikiki’s Marine Life Conservation District
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Courtney Carpenter
courtney.waikiki@gmail.com


Waimea Canyon Middle School

Project Name:
PSAs for Local Change
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Sophia Martin
smartin@wcms.k12.hi.us


Waimea High School

Project Name:
Show Me the Money
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Joyce Evans
jevens@waimeahs.k12.hi.us


Webling Elementary

Project Name:
Healthy Literacy in the 808
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Stanley Chan
stanley_chan@notes.k12.hi.us


West Hawaii Explorations Academy

Project Name:
Connections Project
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Duke Kelli
dkell@whea.net