Close

Grants Awarded for 2017-2018

HSDM grants were awarded in September 2017 for the academic year.


Aliamanu Middle School

Project Name:
A Healthy AMS
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Chris Facuri
chris_facuri@notes.k12.hi.us

Ele'ele Elementary School

Project Name:
5th Media
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Chad Schimmelfenning
chschimm@eleeleschool.k12.hi.us


Farrington High School

Project Name:
The Voices of Kalihi
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Charleen Ego
charleen_ego@notes.k12.hi.us


Fern Elemenatary School

Project Name:
“SOAR”ing to a Postive School/Sustainability
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Selene Horita
selene_horita@notes.k12.hi.us


Hanalani Schools

Project Name:
In The Zone: Becoming a Blue Zones School
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Linda LoBue
linda_lobue@wmpccs.org


Hawaii Academy of Arts and Science

Project Name:
Digital Media Tools
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Andy Stever
astever@haaspcs.net


Hawaii Preparatory Academy

Project Name:
Student Voices
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Ari Bernstein
ari@hpa.edu


Highlands Intermediate School

Project Name:
HIS Media Production, HIS TV
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Jacob Tamaye
jtamaye@highlandsms.k12.hi.us


Hilo Intermediate School

Project Name:
Social Emotional Learning/Mindfulness and the Growth Mindset
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Robert Bowman
robert_bowman@notes.k12.hi.us


Honowai Elementary School

Project Name:
Animation
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Serena Moriya
serena_moriya@notes.k12.hi.us


Ilima Intermediate School

Project Name:
Expeditionary Learning and Mobile Technology
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Melissa Burr
mburr@ilima.k12.hi.us


Iolani School

Project Name:
Upper School Digital Media Program
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Risa Beer
rbeer@iolani.org


Island Pacific Academy

Project Name:
School Scoops
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Lisa Lariscy
llariscy@ipahawaii.org


Ka'ala Elementary School

Project Name:
Ka’ala Creative Media
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Chris Rhoades
christopher_rhoades@notes.k12.hi.us


Ka Waihona o Ka Naʻauao PCS

Project Name:
Our Mo’olelo (Stories)
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Michael Sarmiento
msarmiento@kawaihonapcs.org


Ka Waihona o Ka Naʻauao PCS

Project Name:
For the Haumana
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Calvin Nakano
cnakano@kawaihonapcs.org


Kaimuki High School

Project Name:
Kaimuki High School Broadcast Show
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Johan Montero
jmontero@kaimukihs.k12.hi.us


Kahakai Elementary School

Project Name:
QR Code It
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Charlene Pryor
cpryor@kahakai.k12.hi.us


Kahakai Elementary School

Project Name:
Who’s Who at Kahakai
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Bill Chen
wildbillchen@gmail.com


Kainalu Elementary

Project Name:
Video in the Classroom
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Irene Yamashita
yamashitaagt@gmail.com


Kaiser High School

Project Name:
Carrying on Traditions
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Tanya Misi
tanya_misi@notes.k12.hi.us


Kauai High School

Project Name:
Storytelling in the field
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Leah Aiwohe
Leah_Aiwohi@notes.k12.hi.us


Keolu Elementary School

Project Name:
Friendships Strong, We all Belong
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Gay Kong
gay_kong@notes.k12.hi.us


King David Kalakaua Middle School

Project Name:
King David Kalakaua Middle School Media Club
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
William Calori
william.calori@kalakauamiddle.org


Konawaena High School

Project Name:
Fostering Empathy through Personal Narratives
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Michelle Obregon
michelle_obregon@notes.k12.hi.us


Kipapa Elementary School

Project Name:
Movies that INSPIRE
Awarded:
$1,000
Contact:
Kacie Conner
kacie_conner@notes.k12.hi.us


Kua o ka La PCS

Project Name:
Milolii Hipu’u – Digital Media Through the Arts
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Kaimi Kaupiko
kkaupiko@gmail.com


Lahainaluna High School

Project Name:
Lahainaluna Film Festival
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Erin Thomas
erin_thomas@notes.k12.hi.us


Ma'ili Elementary School

Project Name:
In The Zone: Becoming a Blue Zones School
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Linda LoBue
linda_lobue@wmpccs.org


Maui Preparatory Academy

Project Name:
Maui No Ka Oi
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Jenny Worth
jworth@mauiprep.org


McKinley High School

Project Name:
The Power of the Voiceover
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Mara Kaizawa
mara_kaizawa@mckinleyhs.k12.hi.us


Mililani Middle School

Project Name:
Digital Story Telling
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Paul Stanley
paul.stanley@notes.k12.hi.us 


Moanalua High School

Project Name:
Telling stories for voice untold
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Austin Zavala
austin_zavala@notes.k12.hi.us


Montessori School of Maui

Project Name:
Koa Class Films
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Ali Grimes
alisong@momi.org


Pōmaikaʻi Elementary

Project Name:
Media League Equipment
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Jaydon Isobe
isobej@honu.k12.hi.us


Pukalani Elementary School

Project Name:
SWAG (Students Who Achieve Greatness) Media
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Summer Cretton
summer_dawn_torres@notes.k12.hi.us


Robert Stevenson Middle School

Project Name:
Online Social Awareness
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Amy Tsujioka
tsujioka@rlsms.com


Sacred Hearts Academy

Project Name:
Videos at Sacred Hearts Academy
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Alyssa Myers
amyers@sacredhearts.org


Sacred Hearts Academy

Project Name:
Digital Media Club
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Laurel Oshiro
loshiro@sacredhearts.org


Salt Lake Elementary School

Project Name:
Enhancing Learning with Video Production
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Christine Mabune
christine_mabuni@notes.k12.hi.us


Salt Lake Elementary School

Project Name:
Enhancing Learning with Digital Tools
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Patricia Contee
patty_contee@saltlakeelem.k12.hi.us


Samuel Enoka Kalama Intermediate

Project Name:
Year of Creative Challenges
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Renee Adams
adamsrk@hawaii.edu


SEEQS

Project Name:
Ways of Seeing
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Buffy Cushman-Patz
bcp@seeqs.org


St. Anthony School

Project Name:
Middle School Digital Media Lab
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Everett Lee Yamashita
eyamashita@sasmaui.org


St. Catherine School - Kauai

Project Name:
Play, Review, Repeat 
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Brad Williamson
bwilliamson@st-catherineschool.org


St. Joseph Jr-Sr High School

Project Name:
Huli ka lima i lalo
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Miri Sumida
msumida@sjshilo.org


St. Theresa School

Project Name:
Growing Well, Living Well
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Julian Gilliam
julian@10thlettermedia.com


Trinity Lutheran School

Project Name:
Communications Studio
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Corissa Sheets
csheets@tls-hawaii.org


Waiākea Intermediate School

Project Name:
Safety and Well-Being
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Jill Kubojiri
jill_kubojiri@notes.k12.hi.us


Waiakeawaena Elementary School

Project Name:
Journalism Club
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Tara Green
tarah_green@notes.k12.hi.us


Waianae Intermediate School

Project Name:
Jr. Searider Television
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Luane Higuchi
luane_higuchi@notes.k12.hi.us


Waimea Elementary School

Project Name:
Waimea School Broadcast
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Scott Tamura
stamura@waimea.k12.hi.us


Waimea Middle PCS

Project Name:
In The Zone: Becoming a Blue Zones School
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Linda LoBue
linda_lobue@wmpccs.org


Waipahu Intermediate School

Project Name:
Waipahu Stand Up
Awarded:
$2,500
Contact:
Ian Rush
Ian_Rush@notes.k12.hi.us


Waipahu High School

Project Name:
Creative Short
Awarded:
$1,500
Contact:
Whitney Rush
whs.gallery@gmail.com


Waipahu High School

Project Name:
Na Pua Aina
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Dean Snelling
dsnellin@hawaii.edu


Webling Elementary

Project Name:
Anyone Can Create Videos!
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Erin Protacio
eunebasami@weblingpueo.k12.hi.us


West Hawaii Explorations Academy

Project Name:
Connections Project
Awarded:
$2,000
Contact:
Duke Kelli
dkell@whea.net