Hawaii Educational Research Association

33rd Annual Conference
University of Hawai‘i at Manoa Campus Center
January 8, 2011

Sponsored by
Curriculum Research & Development Group

and PDK/Hawaii

Featuring Keynote Presentations, Symposia & Papers


Keynote Speaker:

Charles Morrison

Morrison is president of East-West Center. He has had extensive involvement in the conceptualization, organization and funding of policy-oriented educational research and dialogue projects in both Japan and the United States, and has long been involved in promoting the concept of Asia Pacific community. He is a founding member of the U.S. Asia Pacific Council, the U.S. National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation and a member of the U.S. Committee for Security Cooperation in Asia Pacific. 2010 is East-West Center’s 50th anniversary

Steven Wheelwright

Wheelwright is the president of Brigham Young University Hawai‘i (BYUH). He is also the Edsel Bryant Ford Professor of Business Administration, Emeritus at Harvard Business School. As president of BYUH, Wheelwright strives to improve the quality of the education delivered and efficiently utilize the BYUH resources in order to provide opportunities for of as many students as possible, particularly the young men and women from Asia and the Pacific. His research and experience have given him a world-recognized expertise in solving complex managerial problems and foreseeing future business trends.

Past Keynote Speakers: Judith Arter, Kathy Au, Pamela Aschbacher, Eva Baker, Sue Bennett, David Berliner, Philip J. Bossert, Betsy Brandt, John Bransford, Mervin Brennan, Martin Carnoy, Yvonne Chan, Arthur Costa, William Cummings, Vicki Davis, Frank De Lima, William Dendle, Ed Emmer, Howard Gardner, Ricki Goldman, Dennis Gooler, Mark Hines, Ku Kahakalau, Paul Kingery, Morris Lai, Paul LeMahieu, Durwood Long, Diana Kaapana Oshiro, Scott Paris, Jerry Pine, James Popham, Michael Pressley, Richard Ripple, Robert Rosenthal, Barbara Schneider, Neil Scott, Michael Scriven, William Sewell, Richard Shavelson, Jim Shon, Frank Smith, Nick Smith, Nan Stein, Dennis Streveler, Ruth Streveler, Marilla Svinicki, William Tikunoff, Tony Wagner, Howard Wainer, Benjamin Young, and Don Zundel.


— Hawaii Educational Research Association—


33nd Annual Conference • Saturday, January 8, 2011
University of Hawai‘i at Manoa • Campus Center Ballroom

8:00a – 8:15a
Registration and Morning Refreshments (Ballroom A)

8:15a – 8:45a

Plenary Session (Ballroom A and B)
Introduction of Conference Sponsors
     HERA Officers and Board of Directors
     CRDG and PDK/Hawaii Representatives
     2011 Peter Dunn-Rankin Graduate Student Waiver Recipients

8:45a – 9:45a
Morning Plenary Session (Ballroom A and B)
Keynote Address: Steven Wheelwright, BYUH

9:45a – 10:00a
Refreshment Break

10:00a – 11:00a
Session I for Papers and Symposia (Rooms 306–310)

11:00a – 11:15a

11:15a – 12:15p
Session II for Papers (Rooms 306–310)

12:15p – 1:30p

Afternoon Plenary Session:
(Ballroom A and B)
Keynote Address: Charles Morrison, East-West Center

Lunch catered by Panya Bistro: tossed green salad, vegetarian spring rolls, teriyaki chicken, mini tonkatsu, mabo tofu with eggplant, Japanese curry with tofu and mixed vegetables, steamed jasmine and brown rice, mini cream cheese donut. Pepsi, Sierra Mist, diet and bottled water available.

1:30p – 2:15p
Poster Session (Ballroom C)

1:45p – 2:15p
Refreshments available

2:15p – 3:15p

Session III for Papers and Symposia (Ballroom A, Rooms 306–310)

 3:30p – 4:30p
HERA Membership Meeting (Ballroom A)
     Election of 2011 Officers

Conference Fees
Regular Registration
Up to December 15, 2010
Late Registration
After December 15, 2010
Non Member


2011 Peter Dunn-Rankin Graduate Student Waiver Program
Up to 5 available

The Peter Dunn-Rankin Graduate Student Waiver program is geared to encourage graduate students whose goals are to contribute to educational research in Hawai‘i. Graduate students need not be members of a school or college of education. Students from all disciplines are welcome. Up to five total waivers will be awarded on December 10, 2010 for registration to the 2011 HERA Conference.

Criteria for Graduate Student

* Must be at least a half-time student in good standing at any institution of higher education.
* Student is responsible for own membership fee ($10).
* Must submit a personal statement by 4pm HST, December 8, 2010.
* Be reachable via email on December 10, 2010 for notification of waiver award.
* Accept award by December 13, 2010.
* Become a member of or renew 2011 membership to HERA.
* Can not have been a Dunn-Rankin Graduate Student waiver recipient in the past two years.

Personal Statement Guidelines

Craft a personal statement no more than 500 words and submit the statement to herainfo@hawaii.edu by December 8, 2010. Acceptable formats for the documents are .doc, .rtf, .pdf or pasted into the email. Please address the following two guiding questions in the personal statement:
1. What do you consider the biggest challenges in Hawaii's educational system?
2. How do you envision HERA can positively contribute to policy, practice, accountability, assessment, etc. in education?

Please direct all questions to herainfo@hawaii.edu, or call Truc Nguyen at 808-956-6507 or Kathy Berg at 808-956-4952.


Conference fees include refreshments and lunch, if received before our lunch reservation deadline of December 15, 2010. Registration after December 15, 2010 carries no guarantee of lunch. All-day parking on campus is $5. For more information, write to herainfo@hawaii.edu, or call Kathleen Berg 808-956-4952 or Truc Nguyen 808-956-6507.

You may cancel or transfer your registration by January 3, 2011 at 9:00 a.m. HST. Please note that a processing fee of $10 per registrant will be applied for all unpaid registrations on January 8, 2011.

Past Conferences:

1998 - 1999 - 2000 - 2001 - 2006 - 2007 - 2008 - 2009 - 2010


Copyright 2007-2010. Hawaii Educational Research Association.
Last Updated March 6, 2011 11:12 PM