Office of the Program Chair

WERTHEIMER, Andrew – Associate Professor and Chair
Specialty: History of Libraries and Ethnic Print Cultures; Collection Management; Archive and Library Management; Foundations; Reference Services; Special Collections Librarianship; Bibliography
Education: BA 1993, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire; MLS 1995, Indiana University; PhD 2003, University of Wisconsin-Madison.

SCHEOPNER, Cindy – Administrative Support


ASATO, Noriko – Associate Professor
Specialty: Japanese / Japanese American Print Cultures; Asian Librarianship; Censorship
Education: MEd 1991, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire; MA 1993, University of Wisconsin-Madison; MLISc 2011, University of Hawaii; PhD 1998, Purdue University.

BAIR-MUNDY, Donna – Instructor
Specialty: Information Systems
Education: BA 1972; MA 1988, UC San Diego; MLIS 1996, University of Hawaii; PhD 2009, University of Hawaii.

GAZAN, Rich – Associate Professor
Specialty: Social aspects of information technology
Education: BA 1987, University of California, Berkeley; MLIS 1998, University of Hawaii; PhD 2004, University of California, Los Angeles.

HARADA, Violet – Professor (retired)
Specialty: School Library Management
Education: BEd 1964, University of Hawaii; MEd 1966, University of Hawaii; MLS 1976, University of Hawaii; EdD 1982, University of Hawaii.

JACSO, Peter – Professor
Specialty: Online Information Systems; Database Design and Evaluation; Database Publishing; Digital Librarianship; Citation Indexing
Education: PhD 1979, Eötvös Loránd University of Sciences, School of Law and Political Science, Budapest; MS 1984, International Computer Educational & Information Center; MLIS 1994, University of Hawai’i

KNUTH, Rebecca – Professor
Specialty: International Librarianship; History of Books and Libraries; Children’s Materials & Services
Education: BS 1971, University of Colorado; MA 1975, University of Northern Colorado; MLIS 1989, University of Hawaii; PhD 1995, Indiana University

MONTAGUE, Rae-Anne - Assistant Professor and School Library Media Program Coordinator
Specialty: International Librarianship; Management; School Librarianship; Serving Underserved Populations/Outreach
Education: BSc (Hons) 1990; MEd 1994 St. Mary’s University (Halifax); MSLIS 2000 University of Illinois; PhD 2006, University of Illinois

NAHL, Diane – Professor
Specialty: Information Technology Literacy; Human System Interaction
Education: BA 1976, University of Hawaii; MLS 1983, University of Hawai’i; PhD 1993, University of Hawai’i

QUIROGA, Luz – Associate Professor
Specialty: Library Automation; Systems
Education: BSc 1971, Universidad Industrial de Sanander; MSc 1984, Autonomous National University of Mexico; PhD 1999, Indiana University.

ICS Department Faculty, February 2013
Photo by Dr. Andrew Wertheimer