Advisory Board


LIS Advisory Board, 2013
Photo by Dr. Andrew Wertheimer

Board Memers — 2012-2013

Amy Nogami, Chair
Chief, Library Activities Branch
CRD, DCA, USAG-HI (Bldg 560), Schofield Barracks, HI 96857
(W) 655-9269, (Fax) 655-6375
amy.e.nogami.civ@mail.mil

Carol Kellett, Chair (Effective spring term)
Systems Librarian, Library Systems Office, UHM Libraries
2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu, HI 96822
(W) 956-6562, (Fax) 956-2750
caroly@hawaii.edu


Christina Abelardo (Spring term)
President, Hawaii Library Association
Sgt. Yano Library
1565 Kolekole Avenue, Bldg. 560, Schofield Barracks, HI 96857-5000
(W) 655-8002
christina.s.abelardo.naf@mail.mil

Jane Barnwell
Chair, Medical Library Association-HPC (MLA)
Pacific Resources For Education & Learning
900 Fort Street Mall, Suite 1300
Honolulu, HI 96813-3718
(W) 441-1300
barnwellj@prel.org

Richard Burns
State Librarian, Hawaii State Public Library System (HSPLS)
44 Merchant St.
Honolulu, HI 96813
(W) 586-3704, (Fax) 586-3715
richard@librarieshawaii.org

David Chin
Chair, Department of Information and Computer Sciences (ICS)
1680 East West Road, POST 317A, Honolulu, HI 96822
(W) 956-8162, (Fax) 956-3548
chin@hawaii.edu

Gail Fujimoto
Representative, Private School Libraries
Midkiff Learning Center, Kamehameha Schools
249 Konia Circle, Honolulu, HI 96817-1597
(W) 842-8946, (Fax) 842-8660
gafujimo@ksbe.edu

Gregg Geary
Interim University Librarian, UHM Libraries
2550 McCarthy Mall, Honolulu, HI 96822
(W) 956-7205
geary@hawaii.edu

Violet Harada (Fall term)
Acting Chair, Library and Information Science Program, UHM (LIS)
2550 McCarthy Mall, Hamilton Library, Room 2-F, Honolulu, HI 96822
(W) 956-5814, (Fax) 956-5835
vharada@hawaii.edu

Carol Hasegawa (Fall term)
President, Association of Hawaii Archivists (AHA)
Honolulu Community College, 874 Dillingham Blvd., Honolulu, HI 96817
(W) 845-9196, (Fax) 845-3618
carolhas@hawaii.edu

Junie Hayashi
President, LIS Alumni Group
Leeward Community College Library, 96-045 Ala Ike, Pearl City, HI 96782
(W) 455-0209, (Fax) 453-6729
junie@hawaii.edu

Faith Ishihara
Interim SLS Specialist, School Library Services, Department of Education
475 22nd Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816
(W) 203-5510
faith_ishihara@notes.k12.hi.us

Patty Louis
President, Hawaii Association of School Librarians (HASL)
Aliamanu Elementary School, 3265 Salt Lake Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96818
(W) 421-4285
(Fax) 421-4283
patricia_louis@notes.k12.hi.us

Christine Pawliuk (Fall term)
President, Hawaii Library Association (HLA)
Hawaii Business Research Library
1300 N. Holopono Street, Suite 213, Kihei, HI 96753
(W) 808-875-5987
christine.pawliuk@hisbdc.org

Helen Rogers
University Librarian, UH-Hilo Mookini Library
200 W Kawili Street, Hilo, HI 96720-4091
(W) 808-933-3132
hrogers@hawaii.edu

Dainan Skeem (Spring term)
President, Association of Hawaii Archivists (AHA)
Archives & Manuscript Dept., University of Hawaii-Manoa (UHM) Libraries
2550 McCarthy Mall, Hamilton Library, Honolulu, HI 96822
(W) 956-3767, (Fax) 956-5968
dainan@hawaii.edu

Mabel Trafford (Spring term)
Representative, Military Libraries
Librarian, Tripler Army Medical Center
1 Jarrett White Road, Tripler AMC, HI 96859
(W) 433-4534
mabel.trafford@us.army.mil

Andrew Wertheimer
Chair, Library and Information Science Program, UHM (LIS)
2550 McCarthy Mall, Hamilton Library, Room 2A, Honolulu, HI 96822
(W) 956-7321, (Fax) 956-5835
wertheim@hawaii.edu

Ex-Officio Members:

  • Chair, LIS Advisory Board
  • Chair, LIS Program
  • Chair, ICS Department
  • Head, HSPLS
  • Head, UHM Libraries
  • Head, UH-Hilo Mookini Library
  • Representative, Private School Libraries
  • Representative, Military Libraries
  • Specialits, DOE School Library Services

Rotating Association Members:

  • AHA
  • HASL
  • HLA
  • LIS Alumni Group
  • MLA
  • SLA