H. W. Wilson Scholarship 2012 Awardees

May 30, 2012 on 10:44 pm | In Congratulations | No Comments

The H. W. Wilson Scholarship has been awarded to Pearl DeSure and Caitlin Ross. The $1,000 awards are made based on prior academic performance and accomplishments. Students must have completed at least 8 graduate credits to apply.

Kapena Shim Wins Award

May 22, 2012 on 12:04 am | In Congratulations | No Comments

Kapena Shim has been awarded the Harold T. Pinkett Minority Student Award from the Society of American Archivists (SAA). The award will allow Kapena a full complementary registration as well as hotel and travel expenses to attend the SAA annual meeting to be held in San Diego, August 6-11, 2012.

In making the award, the reviewing subcommittee indicated that they were unanimous in selecting Shim over 20-plus applications. They were impressed with his “academic record, student activities, professional experience and personal commitment to the preservation of Native Hawaiian culture.”

Congratulations to Kapena for exhibiting outstanding leadership in the archives community and a commitment to diversity in this field!

Blair Award Winners

May 21, 2012 on 12:03 am | In Congratulations | No Comments

Tamara Martinez and Sarah Gray are the spring 2012 recipients of the Robert and Rita Blair Memorial Award. The Robert and Rita Blair Memorial Award is presented to graduating students who show special promise in providing library services to children and youth. The LIS faculty select the awardees based on high academic standing and strong evidence of professional leadership.

Tamara has served on the LIS Curriculum Committee and on the Manoa Graduate Student Organization. She has also been the secretary-treasurer for the student chapter of the Society of American Archivists. Her immediate plans after graduation are to continue working with the Hawaii Literacy’s Family Literacy Program.

Sarah has served as vice president and president of Hui Dui. Like Tamara, she has also been a student representative to the Manoa Graduate Student Organization. In addition, Sarah has actively participated in the student chapters of ALA and SLA-ASIS&T.

Powered by WordPress with Pool theme design by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds. Valid XHTML and CSS. ^Top^