May 9, 2013 on 8:46 am | In Congratulations | No Comments

Amy Steinbauer and Mara Paio are the spring 2013 recipients of the Robert and Rita Blair Memorial Award. This coveted award is presented to graduating students who show special promise in providing library services to children and youth. The LIS faculty select the awardees based on high academic standing and strong evidence of professional leadership.

Amy served as captain of the LIS Web Team, president of the Student Chapter of the American Library Association, and vice president of Hui Dui. She participated in the Special Library Association’s Poster Conference in fall 2012 with a presentation on “The Future of Education: Student Creators and Educational Technology.” As a practicum student in the Sacred Hearts Academy Elementary Library, she also helped with the fall 2012 conference of the Hawaii Association of School Librarians.

Mara was an exemplary student in the distance education program, taking LIS courses from her home on the Big Island. She participated in sessions conducted by the Hawaii Association of School Librarians and received numerous scholarships from a number of professional organizations including the Friends of the Library of Hawaii, Liko A’e, Friends of the Hilo Library and the Kona Library, as well as the UHM Graduate Division.

Daphne Miyashiro Receives HASL Scholarship

May 6, 2013 on 3:57 pm | In Congratulations | No Comments

Congratulations to Daphne Miyashiro who is this year’s recipient of the Hawaii Association of School Librarians (H.A.S.L.) Scholarship. Daphne has been enrolled in the LIS Program since spring 2012. She currently also works as a student administrative assistant at Hamilton Library. In the fall, she will be doing her practicum at Farrington High School with Julie Tomomitsu. Daphne has been actively engaged in numerous library-related activities. She assisted Castle High School Library with their reading program and has volunteered at various Friends of the Library book sales. She is treasurer for the Student Chapter of ALA.

This year’s scholarship is particularly meaningful, as it was partly funded by donations made to H.A.S.L. in honor of Dr. Violet Harada upon her retirement.

Powered by WordPress with Pool theme design by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds. Valid XHTML and CSS. ^Top^