Letterwinners is newest UH alumni association chapter

October 7th, 2010  |  by  |  Published in Sports

four men and a woman with plaque

From left, Don Weir, K. Mark Takai, Artie Wilson, Janet Yoshida Bullard and Carl Clapp

The University of Hawaiʻi Letterwinners Club, an organization of former Mānoa athletes, is now an officially-recognized chapter of the UH Alumni Association.

“We are thrilled to have the Letterwinners aboard,” says Janet Bullard, UHAA executive director.

Bullard presented the certificate of official chapter recognition to Letterwinners Club board members Don Weir ’74; K. Mark Takai ’90, ’93; President Artie Wilson ’74; and UH Associate Athletics Director Carl Clapp at the Oct. 15, 2010, Rainbow Wahine volleyball match.

Since 1997, Letterwinners Club has promoted fellowship among the UH letter winning athletes; encouraged loyalty, service and pride in alma mater; and assisted former and current student-athletes.

The chapter has more than 300 members and 30 directors on its board.

“On behalf of the members of the Letterwinners Club I would like to thank the UHAA Board of Directors for voting us into their ʻohana,” says club President Riley Mende, a UH baseball player 1972-75. “We look forward to contributing to the growth and prosperity of both organizations.”

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.