CTAHR alumnus honored for aquaculture

July 19th, 2011  |  by  |  Published in UHAA News

Picture 2 of 4

Community partner Harold Tanouye, left, and CTAHR entomologist Arnold Hara were also honored, along with other CTAHR faculty, staff members and students.

Aquacultural and fisheries economist PingSun Leung (MS and PhD ’77) has been named the College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources 2011 Outstanding Alumnus. He was recognized along with other faculty, staff, student and community honorees during the 23rd annual CTAHR Awards Banquet in May 2011 at the Ala Moana Hotel.

During the banquet, Dean Sylvia Yuen announced the establishment of the Hawaiʻi Fresh Milk Industry Scholarship Endowment with a $35,000 gift from the industry group to support students pursuing studies in the animal sciences program with an interest in sustainable dairy or other livestock production.

Leung, a professor in the college’s Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Management, has helped advance the field of aquacultural and fisheries economics during his 30 year career at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. He is the founding editor of the journal Aquaculture Economics and Management and has authored, co-authored or edited more than 120 refereed journal articles, 24 book chapters and 10 books. He maintains an active research program, has a reputation as an excellent teacher and consults with numerous local and international agencies, including the UN Food and Agricultural Organization, Asian Development Bank, Mekong River Commission and WorldFish Center.

The 2011 Ka Lei Hano Heritage Award recipient is Harold Tanouye, president/owner of Green Point Nurseries. A leader and innovator in the local agriculture industry, Tanouye has partnered with CTAHR to conduct field research and develop new varieties of anthuriums. The collaboration has produced award-winning varieties and methods for managing anthurium blight, strengthening the state’s floriculture industry.

Ka Hana Poʻokela Service Awards were presented to Noe Abejon, a master’s candidate in natural resources and environmental management, for leadership in the NREM Graduate Student Organization and Gabriel Sachter-Smith, a senior majoring in tropical plant and soil sciences, for organizing field trips, clean-ups, plant sales and other activities as president of the campus Horticulture Society.

Faculty and staff award recipients included Wayne Iwaoka, associate researcher and professor of food science and human nutrition, for his role as a mentor to students; Arnold Hara, Big Island–based entomologist, for his research on non-chemical pest control; Barbara DeBaryshe, Center on the Family associate specialist, for her work as Early Reading First project leader; and Marla Fergerstrom, for her efforts as Mealani Research Station Hawai‘i County herdperson and acting farm manager.

See the CTAHR website for for more photos and the complete list of award winners.

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.