Microbial Ecology, Marine Microbiology, Microbial Diversity

Stuart P. Donachie

Associate Professor Department of Microbiology
University of Hawai'i
Honolulu, HI 96822
Tel: 808-956-6452, Fax: 808-956-5339


  • PhD 1995, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • BS 1986, Manchester Metropolitan University

Professional Experience

  • 2008 - present: Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology, University of Hawai'i.
  • 2003 - 2008: Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology, University of Hawai'i.
  • 1999 - 2003: Junior/Assistant Researcher, Department of Microbiology, University of Hawai'i. Major projects: NSF Microbial Observatories: Microbial diversity in lakes of the Hawaiian Archipelago. 2. NSF Marine Bioproducts Engineering Center: Cultivation of bacteria from deep-sea hydrothermal vents in high-pressure and high temperature samplers and reactors; isolation of acidophiles and thermophiles from New Zealand volcanoes and geothermal systems; establishment and maintenance of DNA and culture collections. (PI - Prof. Maqsudul Alam)
  • 1998 - 1999: Post-Doctoral Researcher, Marine Biotechnology and Biosystems Engineering Laboratory, SOEST, University of Hawai'i. Marine Derived Biocatalysts: Isolation of organophosphorus acid anhydrolases from marine bacteria. (PI - Prof. Oskar Zaborsky)
  • 1996 - 1998: Post-Doctoral Researcher, Department of Oceanography, SOEST, University of Hawai'i. Hawai'i Ocean Time Series: Investigation of factors controlling ectoenzyme expression in Pacific and Antarctic marine bacteria. (PI - Prof. Dave Karl) http://hahana.soest.hawaii.edu/index.html
  • 1988 - 1995: PhD student, Department of Antarctic Biology, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland. Investigation of the potential role of bacteria in the digestive tracts of Antarctic marine euphausiids. (PI - Prof. dr. hab. Stanislaw Rakusa-Suszczewski). Winter-over group, 14th Polish Antarctic Expedition at Henryk Arctowski Station. http://www.dab.waw.pl/


Research Expeditions/Fieldwork

Membership in Professional Societies

Academic Committees

  • Phyllis Lam (PhD), SOEST, University of Hawai‘i (2004)
  • Sarah Mincks (PhD), SOEST, University of Hawai‘i (2005)
  • Tonya Fowler (MS), Microbiology, University of Hawai‘i (2005)
  • Kathleen Brostrom (MS), Microbiology, University of Hawai‘i (2005)
  • Maria Hansen (MS), Microbiology, University of Hawai‘i (2005)
  • Xiaojun (Stephen) Lu (MS), Microbiology, University of Hawai‘i (2005)