Main Faculty

Maqsudul Alam (Professor/Department Chair)
  • Signal-transduction in microorganisms
  • Ph.D., (Moscow State University, Russia), Ph.D. (Max-Planck-Institute of Biochemistry, Germany)
  • Snyder 111
  • Phone: (808)956-6945
  • Email: alam@hawaii.edu
  • website
Sean M. Callahan (Professor)
  • Genetics of cellular differentiation and pattern formation in cyanobacteria
  • Ph.D. (Massachusetts Institute of Technology/Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution)
  • Snyder 201
  • Phone: (808)956-8015
  • Email: scallaha@hawaii.edu
  • website
Stuart P. Donachie (Associate Professor)
  • Marine microbiology and microbial diversity
  • Ph.D. (Polish Academy of Sciences)
  • Snyder 210
  • Phone: (808)956-6452
  • Email: donachie@hawaii.edu
  • website
James T. Douglas (Professor)
  • Medical Microbiology
  • Ph.D. (University of California Berkeley)
  • Snyder 101
  • Phone: (808)956-4639
  • Email: jdouglas@hawaii.edu
  • website
Tung T. Hoang (Associate Professor)
  • Genetics and biochemical pathways of bacteria: fatty acids degradation in Pseudomonas aeruginosa and environmental pollutants degradation of related species.
  • Ph.D. (Colorado State University)
  • Snyder 308E
  • Phone: (808)956-3522
  • E-mail: tongh@hawaii.edu
  • website
Hongwei Li (Assistant Professor)
  • Molecular virus-host interactions
  • Ph.D. (National University of Singapore)
  • Snyder 302
  • Phone: (808)956-5518
  • Email: hli@hawaii.edu
  • website
Paul Q. Patek (Professor)
  • Immunology with emphasis on cellular and molecular aspects
  • Ph.D. (University of Texas)
  • Snyder 207/318
  • Phone: (808)956-8603/(808)956-7025
  • Email: patek@hawaii.edu
  • website
Richard D. Allen (Emeritus Professor)
  • Ultrastructure and cell biology with emphasis on structure, function and development of cellular organelles
  • Ph.D. (Iowa State University)
  • Email: allenric@hawaii.edu
  • website
Philip Loh (Emeritus Professor)
  • Virology, Animal viral pathobiology, antiviral substances, marine viral diseases and environmental virology
  • Ph.D. (Michigan)
  • website

Affiliated Faculty

  • Dulal Borthakur (Professor)
  • Department of Molecular Biosciences and Bioengineering (MBBE)
  • Agriculture Sciences Bldg. 415F
  • Phone: (808)956-6600
  • dulal@hawaii.edu
  • Sandra Chang (Professor)
  • Tropical Medicine, Medical Microbiology and Pharmacology
  • Leahi Hospital
  • Phone: (808)732-1477
  • sandrac@hawaii.edu
  • Roger S. Fujioka (Researcher)
  • Water Resources Research Center
  • Holmes Hall 280
  • Phone: (808)956-3096
  • rfujioka@hawaii.edu
  • Tom D Humphreys (Professor)
  • Cell and Molecular Biology Pacific Biosciences Research Center
  • Kewalo Marine Lab 320
  • Phone: (808)539-7327
  • htom@hawaii.edu
  • Jo-Anne C Leong (Director/Professor)
  • Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology
  • Coconut Island
  • Phone: (808)236-7401
  • joannleo@hawaii.edu
  • Yuanan Lu (Associate Researcher,)
  • Pacific Biosciences Research Center
  • Leahi Hospital
  • Phone: (808)732-7702 ext 20
  • ylu@pbrc.hawaii.edu, yuanan@hawaii.edu
  • F. DeWolfe Miller (Professor)
  • Tropical Medicine and Medical Microbiology
  • Leahi Hospital
  • Phone: (808)732-1477
  • dewolfe@hawaii.edu
  • Vivek R. Nerurkar (Professor)
  • Tropical Medicine and Medical Microbiology
  • Leahi Hosp, Atherton 2nd Fl
  • Phone: (808)732-7702
  • nerurkar@hawaii.edu
  • Michael Rappe (Assistant Researcher)
  • Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology/Department of Oceanography
  • Coconut Is, HIMB, Pauley 102
  • Phone: (808)236-7464, (808)236-7465
  • rappe@hawaii.edu
  • Helen C Turner (Adjunct Associate Professor)
  • Cell and Molecular Biology
  • Ctr for Biomed Rsch, Queen's Med Ctr, UHT-811
  • Phone: (808)537-7927
  • hturner@hawaii.edu, hturner@queens.org
  • Guangyi Wang (Associate Professor)
  • Oceanography, Hawaii Natural Energy Institute
  • POST 109, POST 103B
  • Phone: (808)956-3744
  • guangyi@hawaii.edu
  • Karen Yamaga (Professor)
  • Tropical Medicine and Medical Microbiology
  • Leahi Hospital
  • Phone: (808)732-1477
  • yamaga@hawaii.edu