skip to Main Content
group of people

Asia-Pacific Youth Science Exchange Forum science panel members including, standing from left, Sean MacDuff, Daniel Barshis and far right, Jack Kittinger

Mānoa students lead forum on coral reef biology in the Pacific

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa graduate students Daniel Barshis, Jack Kittinger and Sean MacDuff were invited to participate on an eight-member science panel at a Asia-Pacific Youth Science Exchange Forum in Okinawa. The forum was hosted by the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology. They were selected by OIST to serve on the eight-member science panel as experts in coral reef ecology/biology to lead the discussion on the problems facing the Pacific in the next 50 years and to suggest ways to face these issues. Read the news release.

Students receive travel industry scholarships

Twenty-seven students studying at Mānoa’s School of Travel Industry Management received scholarships totaling $52,000 from the Edwin M. Hastings Memorial Scholarship Fund established in 2009. The merit-based scholarships support TIM students who are Hawaiʻi residents with a preference to those who graduated from local high schools. Receiving this year’s scholarships are Kimberly Agonoy, Jose Aviles, Florante Baptista, Florelei Baris, Marla Ben-Dor, Chelsey-Mei Borge, Sierra Borge, Mary Duldulao, Elizabeth Eguchi, Kasey Kam, Katrina Konsolas, Micah Leiato, Ashley Lum, Christina Ly, Cara Nonaka, Jacqueline O’Farrell, Jonathan O’Neil, Kristina Ornellas, Jaimy Paulino, Scott Pirscher, Celina Quach, Dulce Ramos, Brandon Shiira, Angela Wong, Maria Yamashita, Ying Yan Yan and Catherine Yasuhara. Read the news release.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top