Jon Van Dyke photo

Jon Van Dyke will be remebered at the Ninth Annual All Class Reunion on Friday, September 28

The William S. Richardson School of Law’s Ninth Annual All Class Reunion on Friday, September 28, will showcase The Life, Legend and Legacy of Beloved Professor Jon Markham Van Dyke, who passed away last November 29. The reunion, sponsored by the Alumni Association, will be held from 5:30 to 9:30 p.m. at the Hale Koa Hotel, Waikīkī Ballroom, and will celebrate the classes of 1977, 1982, 1987, 1992, 2002, 2007 and 2012.

Van Dyke, a leading legal scholar and practitioner in international law, human rights, environmental, ocean and constitutional law, died suddenly of a heart attack last year while attending a conference in Australia. He joined the Law School faculty in 1976 and was one of its outstanding members.

Three special alumni will also be honored at the reunion.

  • Calvin E. Young (’82), of Ayabe Chong Nishimoto Sia and Nakamura, will receive the Outstanding Alumnus Award.
  • Rebecca Lynne Dayhuff (’07), of Goodsill Anderson Quinn and Stifel, will receive the Dean’s Award.
  • Rosemary T. Fazio(’78), of Ashford and Wriston, LLP, will receive the Public Service Award.
  • “It is fitting that we honor these three exceptional community leaders at the same time that we celebrate the legacy of Professor Jon Van Dyke, whose contributions to diverse elements of our community and to the national and international quest for justice made him much-beloved and truly irreplaceable,” said Dean Avi Soifer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *