The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa School of Travel Industry Management’s Eta Sigma Delta (ESD) student chapter of the International Hospitality Management Honor Society joined two other chapters in winning the honor of Chapter of Distinction for the 2013–14 academic year. Associate Professor Ingrid Lin, the ESD advisor, will accept the award on Friday, August 1 at the International Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education’s summer conference in San Diego, California.

A number of initiatives in community service, mentorship and service to the School of Travel Industry Management were launched this year. ESD spearheaded the school’s Relay for Life team, which raised about $1,200 for the American Cancer Society. The club launched mentorship programs for the school’s freshman students and Farrington High School students, and created an industry leader program for all ESD active members. ESD also developed the club newsletter and improved their social media presence.

Officers of the 23-member club were President Jeremy Tomono, Vice President Kasey Kam, Secretary Kelsey Kitagawa, Treasurers Christina Ly and Diane Yang, and Historian Danielle Michaud.

Read the UH Mānoa news release for more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *