Skip to content
Reading time: < 1 minute

The Hawaiʻi State Theater Council recognized the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa’s Department of Theatre and Dance with 19 Poʻokela Awards for Excellence at the 2015 Stars Night Out held on August 10, 2015. Kennedy Theatre’s production of Lāʻieikawai received 10 awards, the most for any production.


Leading Male in a Play

  • Timothy Callais, The Taming of the Shrew
  • Jason Kanda, Joker

Leading Female in a Play

  • Kyle Scholl, The Taming of the Shrew
  • Lillian M. Jones, Ruined
  • Karissa J. Murrell Myers, Blithe Spirit

Featured Female in a Play

  • Sharon R. Garcia Doyle, The Taming of the Shrew
  • Sharon R. Garcia Doyle, Blithe Spirit

Ensemble Performance in a Musical

  • Lāʻieikawai

Director of a Musical

  • Tammy Hailiʻōpua Baker, Lāʻieikawai

Musical Direction

  • Snowbird Bento and Keawe Lopes, Lāʻieikawai

Dance Choreographer

  • Snowbird Bento, Keawe Lopes, Sami L.A. Akuna and Wailana Simcock, Lāʻieikawai

Overall Play

  • Blithe Spirit

Overall Musical

  • Lāʻieikawai

Costume Design

  • Cheri Vasek, Lāʻieikawai

Set Design

  • Jennifer Eccles, Lāʻieikawai

Light Design

  • Kelsey Peacock, Lāʻieikawai

Hair, Makeup and Wig Design

  • Snowbird Bento, Cheri Vasek and Caroline Mercier, Lāʻieikawai

Special Adjudicator Awards

  • Peleki Flores and Kupono Kawaʻa, Fight Choreography, Lāʻieikawai
  • Yiling Liu, Original Script, Joker

Excellence in Service Award

  • Nicole Tessier
Back To Top