skip to Main Content
group of people holding proclamation

Library and Information Science Program faculty celebrate 50 years of education in Hawaiʻi with Governor Ige (photo courtesy of the LIS Facebook page). From left: Assistant Professor Rae-Anne Montague, Adjunct Faculty member Carol Kellett, Associate Professor and LIS Program Chair Rich Gazan, Governor David Ige, Associate Professor Andrew Wertheimer, Professor Emerita Violet Harada, Professor and ICS Department Chair David Chin, Associate Professor and Associate LIS Program Chair Noriko Asato.

On Friday, September 11, 2015, Govenor David Ige and Lieutenant Governor Shan Tsutsui recognized the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library and Information Science (LIS) Program by proclaiming September 13 through 19 UH Mānoa Library and Information Science Program Week in honor of the program’s 50th anniversary.

“We’ve gone through many changes in 50 years, but what we all share is a sense that information is more than words on a page,” said Library and Information Science Program Chair Rich Gazan. “We create systems and spaces where people can connect with the knowledge and stories of others, so they can find their own voice.”

The LIS Program has evolved its curriculum and services to prepare graduates to successfully compete in the world’s dynamic digital environment, evidenced by its transformation from the original Graduate School of Library Studies to to the current LIS Program in the Department of Information and Computer Sciences.

The program has graduated 1628 students, many of whom now serve in public, school, academic and special libraries as well as museum and archives in Hawaiʻi, the continental United States and in various countries around the world.

The LIS Program continues to supply at least half of the professional workforce for information professionals in Hawaiʻi, many of them serving in leadership capacities in the UH Libraries, Hawaiʻi State Public Library System and the Hawaiʻi Department of Education.

people with proclamation

Library and Information Science Program students and Gov. David Ige (photo courtesy of the LIS Facebook page). From left: Gailyn Bopp, Tori Ann Ogawa, Meera Garud, Governor David Ige, Liz Teoli, Kealiʻikauila Niheu.

For more photos from the proclamation ceremony go to Gov. Ige’s Flickr site.

This Post Has One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top