Distinguished Alumni Honored For Achievements

The University of Hawaiʻi Alumni Association honored their outstanding alumni on May 31 at the 2016 University of Hawaiʻi Distinguished Alumni Awards. The awards recognize alumni who have used their education to excel professionally, provide inspirational leadership to others and provide service for the benefit of UH and the community.

Larry Price

The 2016 Distinguished Alumni Award was presented to four honorees:

  • Conrad Nonaka (AS ’70 Kapiʻolani Community College, BEd ’78 Mānoa) — Director, Culinary Institute of the Pacific; video.
  • Ernest Takafuji, MD, MPH (BA ’66 Mānoa) — Director, Office of Biodefense Research, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) (retired); video.
  • Eric Yeaman (BBA ’89 Mānoa) — President and Chief Operating Officer, First Hawaiian Bank; video.
  • Jackie Young, PhD (BS ’69 Mānoa) — Chief Staff Officer, American Cancer Society Hawaiʻi Pacific, Inc. (retired); video.

The 2016 University of Hawaiʻi Founders Alumni Association Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Larry Price (BS ’67, MEd ’71 Mānoa) — Former On-Air Personality, KSSK Radio; video.

“Knowledge is power,” said Price. “You gotta just keep going. Forget about all the obstacles and the reasons for not going. Figure out a way to go and just keep going.”

2016 UH Distinguished Alumni Award honorees, (left to right) Eric Yeaman, Jackie Young, Larry Price, Ernest Takafuji and Conrad Nonaka