skip to Main Content

UH Manoa becomes founding member of Asia-Pacific Association for International Education

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Viet Ngo, (808) 956-0902
International Affairs
Arlene Abiang, (808) 956-5637
External Affairs & University Relations
Posted: Aug 5, 2005

The University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa joined 12 universities from Asia to become the only institution from the United States selected to be a founding member of the Asia-Pacific Association for International Education (APAIE). Dr. Edgar Porter, Interim Dean of the School of Hawaiian, Asian and Pacific Studies and UH Mānoa‘s Liaison for International Affairs, represented the university at the founders meeting in December 2004 at Korea University to discuss objectives and to sign the statement of intent.

The APAIE is the first of its kind for the region. Founding members envision it to be a collaborative body of international educators who will promote and support communication, networking, professional development, and other areas critical to the advancement of international education in Asia and the Pacific.

"The University of Hawaiʻi is proud to have been invited to become a founding member of the APAIE," said Porter. "It is a testament of both our reputation as a leader in Asia Pacific studies and the perception by our Asian colleagues that we are located in a dynamic region. We look forward to building this association, and facilitating greater collaboration and educational opportunities for our students and faculty throughout the Asia Pacific region."

Modeled partly after the European Association for International Education (EAIE) and the National Association of Foreign Student Advisors (NAFSA), the APAIE seeks to establish similar networks starting with its first conference in the spring of 2006 in Seoul, Korea. APAIE is currently calling on all interested individuals, educational institutions and related organizations to join its membership and conference.

The other founding members of the APAIE are: Brawijaya University (Indonesia), Chinese University of Hong Kong, Griffith University (Australia), Korea University, Kasetsart University (Thailand), National University of Singapore, Renmin University (China), Sun Yat-sen University (Taiwan), University of Auckland (New Zealand), University of Delhi (India), University of the Philippines-Los Banos, and Waseda University (Japan).

For more information about the APAIE, the 2006 conference and how to become a member, visit

About the University of Hawaiʻi

Established in 1907 and fully accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, the University of Hawaiʻi is the state‘s sole public system of higher education. The UH System provides an array of undergraduate, graduate, and professional degrees and community programs on 10 campuses and through educational, training, and research centers across the state. UH enrolls more than 50,000 students from Hawaiʻi, the U.S. mainland, and around the world. For more information, visit

For more information, visit: